Random Things


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kanagawa
September 14th 2012
Published: September 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Last weekend was Chandra's birthday, so we went to Machida to get sushi and a birthday cake. I'd never been to a rotating sushi bar, so I was pretty excited - plus, I'd never been to Machida, either! When we showed up, there was this performance going on in the street by what we figured was a junior high or high school, doing traditional dances and drums. It was REALLY cool. We didn't know what was going on, but we stayed for about 10-15 minutes to watch. It was awesome. Surprise culture! I love finding things like this, that people here take for granted because they are traditional, but for us are really interesting and beautiful. <3

Then we got sushi at the rotating sushi bar, which was JUST as amazing as I had hoped it would be. And picking out a birthday cake at the department store food level was fun! We had food, movies and some ACTUAL BEER, so we had a pretty good night and went home feeling pretty good. 😊

I got paid on Monday, so I AM NO LONGER A HOBO. This is single-handedly the best thing to happen to me in a long time. I can BUY FOOD again. To celebrate, I got myself a cell phone. Back on the grid for the first time in three months. I'm sort of deliberately not giving it to work for awhile. I don't think I want them to be able to get me on something other than email, to be honest. No, I don't want overtime again, thank you. I'm trying to decide what my next purchase will be. I have rent coming up at the end of the month, and one more small bill to pay, but other than that, I've paid my biggest bill this month already today. So it's just groceries and transport. Jamie and Kimmy will be here at the end of the month so I'll need to save some money for that. I'd like to squirrel away as much as possible.

We get the 22nd off for some random holiday - autumn equinox? - and I can't be happier about FINALLY getting a vacation day. They always fall on Mondays, when my days off already are, so I never get paid holidays. But I talked to my boss about switching my days off to Wed-Thurs and he said we could do it in the next few months, so I'm crossing my fingers that works out. I'd really like to get some paid holidays. Either way, the 22nd is a Saturday I don't have to teach tiny children! THAT IS A WIN IN MY BOOK, I HATE TEACHING TINY CHILDREN.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

machida 014machida 014
machida 014

Rotating sushi bar!
machida 015machida 015
machida 015

Sushi again
machida 016machida 016
machida 016

Sunset back home


Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0659s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb