Rain, Rain, Stay Here!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kanagawa
July 22nd 2012
Published: July 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Image1333Image1333Image1333

One half of my arm warmer project done in half-double crochet with a really cute pattern!
Last "weekend" - Monday and Tuesday for me, since those are my days off, was unbearably hot for someone without air-con, but the rest of this week has been glorious! It got cool enough on Wednesday that I slept BENEATH MY BLANKETS with ACTUAL CLOTHES ON and I can't even talk about how amazing that is, haha. So basically, real sleep has been happening and it's been FANTASTIC.

Other than that, another week of work down and I finally feel like I am hitting my groove! Today I had a ROUGH first lesson, but it was pretty outside the norm and those things happen with certain students, so aside from being a bit too early for that at 9 AM on a Sunday, it has been an excellent week. This week I got the crafting urge again and since I'd brought my crochet needle with me (like a smart girl!), I hit up Yuzawaya, which is a big chain crafting store in Japan.

I had to head out to Mizonokuchi, a stop on my normal Den-en-toshi line (which is the line I take when working in our other location outside of my neighborhood), and I am pleased to report that FOR THE FIRST TIME SINCE ARRIVING IN JAPAN, I managed to find a location I was looking for WITHOUT getting lost first! No, seriously. This is a first, haha. I found the craft store on the 5th floor of the Don Quijote, and it was like coming home. There was so much stuff for a crafty girl there!!

I got some yarn and have already made myself one fingerless arm warmer/glove in preparation for the winter, and am working now (as a break from the other arm warmer) on a cover for the cushion I am using as a second pillow. It's neopolitan covered and I found the coolest pattern for it, so I'm really enjoying that. It's good to get back to things that keep my hands busy during my off-time! I really like creating things, so it makes me happy. :] Plus, I can create things for my apartment here for far cheaper than buying them would be.

Tomorrow, Chandra and I are heading into Yokohama so I can pay my rent for August (wow, end of July already!) and see some of the bay area, since we're a bit far from it and I'd like to see it. Weekends are wonderful! <3

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0699s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb