Japanese Dance


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Ibaraki » Mito
December 10th 2008
Published: December 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, this weekend was soooo much fun. Friday night, I went to dinner with Cho-san. Ate sushi and enjoyed good company. A lot of fun. Saturday, I went to lunch with jie jie (eina) and walked around with her for a little while. Afterwards, Mikako came to the dorm and we watched a movie and hung out for a couple hours with Hunter and Ryuta.
Sunday Hunter and I went with Endo-san (the staff member who took us on the Mito history day thing, with the tea ceremonies) for coffee and then to a Japanese dance performance. OMG!! Amazing! I really have no words to discribe it. Just the feelings I got from the music and the movement was incredible! Halfway through the performances, they served us lunch, wich was Japanese rice and meat with vegetables and bamboo. Yummy! And a mikan as well. After the performances were over, we got to talk to the teacher of the school (it used to be a school for geisha) and she put on one of the kimonos on me. Not the obi or anything, just the kimono. It was beautiful!! Then we went to a small place where student films were being shown. The animation guy was really good, the others were ok. Not great, but not terrible either. It felt very beat-nick. Afterwards, we went to Mo Burger and had my first hamburger in Japan. Not terrible, but no In-N-Out either. Endo-san then really wanted me to be able to wear a real Kimono, which I really wanted to do, but to put on Kimono and have picture taken, it's at least 300 dollars. So Endo-san took us to one store and talked the lady into letting me try on the kimono!! He told her that I really want to buy one, and my parents want to see what it looks like, so the put everything on, and OH MY GOSH!!! It was so beautiful!! We took a couple pictures of it, and I seriously thought I was going to cry, it was so pretty! The one I tried on was about 2,000 dollars, and the obi about 500 dollars. So I was wearing about 2500-3000 dollars worth of stuff! It was seriously amazing.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0925s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb