Long Rides= Long Day


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Ibaraki » Mito
September 10th 2008
Published: September 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wll, I'm here, and it's amazing!! So the flight sucked, soooooooo long. But once we landed, we were greeted with a sign and a bunch of people, customs was a breeze, everyone was so nice, it was awesome! We all met together (we lost the Northridge group for awhile, we Fresno people stick together). I love the group, everyone is soooooo nice. One of my roommates came to meet us, she's a sweetie. I met my other roommate, also a sweetie, when we got of the bus and got swarmed by other roommates. They were soooo nice, taking our luggage and saying hi. I apparently was the anticipated one. Over half of the Japanese students once they heard my name started saying that they heard all about me and were excited to finally meet me, they didn't do that with the other American students, except for their roommates. I made a fast friend of Saiko, I LOVE HER!!! She is me, but Japanese. She was one of the ones super excited to finally meet me, when I told her my name she hugged me and never let go of my hands until we got to Coco's for dinner. She even said (well, not 100% sure cause she doesn't know a lot of English but this is what I got) that the Tokiwa Shinbun (newspaper) was or is or did right a profile on ME! I am in search for a paper as we speak! But yes, I apparently am the entertainment here, and made sooo many friends already. So exciting!!

The driving I think is taking me the longest to get used to. I don't know how many times I flinched while driving. Everything is backwards.

So today, I woke up early, took a shower and went to breakfast, which was amazing. Oh yeah, dinner was amazing too, beef curry and rice, sooooo good. Breakfast consisted of fermented soy beans (not so good), rice, fish, miso soup with cabbage, and something I have no idea what it was, but you put it in the rice and it's really good.

Then I finished unpacking, listened to music with Akami and Nozomi (roommates) and started orientation. Elmar (fast friend 😊 and Northridge person), Phillip and I went to the convience store on campus to get phone cards and Elmar and I got something for lunch. I had shrimp and noodle au gratin, it was oishii!!!!! Just stick it in the microwave for like 20 sec, and it's steaming and delicious. Then we spent about 30 min trying to figure out how to use the calling cards to call home, which we failed miserably, then had to go back to go get alien registration and work permits.

Everything was pretty easy, give it to them, wait, get it back. That's it. Finally got to call home, finally got internet, and now waiting for last program for today then dinner, then I believe we're going to a bar. Sorry no pictures yet, I still haven't figured out how to use the plugs, and I don't have internet in the room, so be patient and pics will come soon, promise.

Oh, and if you want to write me or send me anything, the address is:

Kristin Starkweather
1-454-7 Miwa, Mito, Ibaraki
310-0911 JAPAN

Well, that's it for now.

Advertisement



10th September 2008

Fun
Kristin, It sounds so FUN!!! I'm envious. Are you good at the chopstick thing? Kim
11th September 2008

Soccer Balls
Hey, sounds awesome. Eat lots of weird stuff and drink Sake!!!

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb