A love note of sorts...


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hyogo » Kobe
February 21st 2007
Published: February 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

My computer is on the fritz, so I apologize for the infrequency of my blog updates. I'm borrowing my flatmate's computer to write a very special message to someone who means the world to me.


February 26th is my daddy's birthday. If you know me at all, then you know how much this guy means to me. But I'm not sure he's fully aware of it sometimes. I know you're supposed to normally save this kind of stuff for weddings and things like that, but honestly it's not looking like I'll be getting hitched anytime soon.


My dad:

My dad has lived an amazing life so far- he has had so many incredible experiences, and though not shy about sharing his stories, he's managed to remain incredibly humble. He's a constant source of information and inspiration. One of my favorite moments with my dad is when we were in the Smithsonian Air and Space museum in D.C. Dad was probably more qualified to be a tour guide than most people working there. I even noticed some people following us around as he explained ablative cooling to me. The coolest moment was when he stopped at the Lunar Lander and said, "You see that part. That's what I worked on."


I have been spoiled in every possible way by my parents, but the thing that has meant the most to me is their undying support. A true Gemini, I tend to accumulate new hobbies the way some people accumulate clothes (new season, new hobby). No matter what the interest, my dad is there making sure I have the proper equipment- from a nice SLR camera to books of folk tales written in Japanese. Beyond that, he's been my softball coach, my kickball team's sponsor, and almost a personal manager for swimming. I don't think he missed a single meet. He'd write down my times for each event on the meet schedule, which he would later put into a big notebook with all my ribbons (even the crummy little "Heat Winner" ones!). I still don't know who's more proud.


If I have learned anything from my dad, it's to have patience and compassion. My dad always gives people the benefit of the doubt, even if nobody else thinks they deserve it. Sure, he's been burned by it, but he hasn't changed. It's probably the thing that I respect the most about him.


My dad is my rock, my biggest supporter, and my hero.



Happy Birthday Daddy! I love you very much!

Advertisement



23rd February 2007

Probably shouldn't write right now..
Kind of slooshed from a liquid lunch has made me vulnerable to this kind of script....and... all the way over here, so far from my own Daddy, I am sooooo embarrassed to say I have watery eyes - you dick! I love ya, and thanks for reminding me to call my own dooo-da!
24th February 2007

Dads and Your Dad
Alyssa- we love you and as a Dad of you know who , I read your description of your dad and hope I have been that good a father to him. I understand his dedication to providing you the very best that he could give you as that always came easy to me as my son did all those "boy" things and now does his man things. You are one of the finest young women I have known and that is the true legacy of love your father has given you. We too wish him the happiest of birthdays . Thank you for always loving our son!-- Mom and Pappy Brown
24th February 2007

Dad's are great . . .
You gotta love 'em! :-) On another note: you can be an old maid with me :-p
24th February 2007

hi!
happy birthday, gene, old chap!

Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 89; dbt: 0.0683s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb