Hisashiburi


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido
September 26th 2006
Published: September 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My watering holeMy watering holeMy watering hole

Where I come to collect fresh water...
Ok, I know its been ageees and agees, but won't even begin to make excuses, think you all know me well enough by now to know I totally suck at the whole 'keeping in touch' thing..

But needless to say, uploading a few photos (or more than a few I guess) pretty much adequately sums up my lfe in the past 4-5 months.. minus the work side of things, which is about as interesting as watching paint dry...

In a nutshell...

Lots of beach camping, mainly at Iwanai, a really awesome beach spot... pretty secluded with absolutely no one there so was like our own private beach... sleeping under the stars, bbq set, beers and lots of cool mates... can't beat it

a few road trips, one all the way up to Shiretoko (10 hrs and a bit north) which has now become a world heritage site. They have the biggest bear population in Japan, some grow up to 3 mtrs. Theres also lots of deer, fox and squirrels, nature on steroids but a really beautiful place. Best part would be the four waterfalls which are actually natural onsens (hot springs) the higer you go the warmer
Fukidashi..Fukidashi..Fukidashi..

hmm... this guy is looking a bit angry.. one of the fukadashi gods??
and cleaner the springs get.. the main attraction for me was watching the salmon migrate from the sea back to the river, was really amazing watching them throw themselves out of the water and battle against the currents... know if I was a fish I would call it a day and chill in the seaweed or do the 'pretend youre dead on the rocks then swim away when no one's looking' thing....

Another road trip to Hokadate (4ish hours southish), one of Hokkaido's most historic places, umm.. .. went to see the 'remains' of a famous castle, but it really brought the truth to the word 'remains' there was basically lots of rubble and pieces of wood, you would be forgiven to have thought it was just a massive park with a mote. The night views were great though, totally different from any night view I have seen before, worth a visit if ure in the area... its jut on the coast and really famous for its seafod and crabs.. we hit the seafood markets in the morning where they are ripping apart crabs and sea urchin like theres no tomorrow.. brekkie of sashimi and rice... could take some
Iwanai Beach CampingIwanai Beach CampingIwanai Beach Camping

One of the many beach camps we did...
getting used to..

Been addicted to trail running this summer, my favourite trail would be kagami-numa, you run about 3k through the forest and then there is this amazing pond that reflects everything like a mirror.. then it goes for another 7k through the most beautiful forest... ahh....

So yeah, getting the most of the outdoors before the snow sets in, which is not far away... hopefully its not another 4 months until my next blog.....

love lots - D.










Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Chocolate BannanasChocolate Bannanas
Chocolate Bannanas

The delux bbq food - why we don't do this back in Oz I have no idea!!
Just a bit chillyJust a bit chilly
Just a bit chilly

needless to say this was one of the last camping trip we did - there are actually people in those sleeping bags..
spot masumi and Dspot masumi and D
spot masumi and D

Masumi and I getting lost in the sunflowers!
Sou-chan!Sou-chan!
Sou-chan!

Sou-chan dropped by to visit..Would you believe sou-Chan (the guy) met aya when he came to visit me last season, and now they are getting married!! hows that for playing cupid!
Otaru bayOtaru bay
Otaru bay

Stillest sunset I have seen for a while..
Otaru bayOtaru bay
Otaru bay

Masumi and I getting over excited.. again..
Hokadate - squid anyone?Hokadate - squid anyone?
Hokadate - squid anyone?

brings different definition to hanging out the washing...
Mutant crabs!!Mutant crabs!!
Mutant crabs!!

Raw fish and crab for brekkie!! yum!
Bambi!Bambi!
Bambi!

Deers rule the roads in Shiretoko! car trip up north..
ShiretokoShiretoko
Shiretoko

me watching the shiretoko sunset...Shiretoko recently became a world heritage site.. its amazing!
Japanese camping food..Japanese camping food..
Japanese camping food..

I know what you are all thinking.. but really it tastes GREAT!
Shiretoko - natural hot springsShiretoko - natural hot springs
Shiretoko - natural hot springs

A protected area, you are only allowed to the first waterfall... though this pic is from the fourth.. hmmmm.. I'll explain later.. ha ha..
Salmon swimming upstreamSalmon swimming upstream
Salmon swimming upstream

One of the poor ones who did not make it all the way upstream.... If I was a salmon am sure I would be right next to him..
Masshyu-koMasshyu-ko
Masshyu-ko

Apparently its really rare to see the island in the middle... and bad luck for girls... needless to say it was clear as day when I was there..
ShyakotanShyakotan
Shyakotan

Crystal blue waters.... makes me drool..
Beach CampingBeach Camping
Beach Camping

Brekkie, totally desserted beach and this dog popped out from nowhere!!
doko? doko?
doko?

not sure where this was.. one of the car-camping stop points..
Kagami-numaKagami-numa
Kagami-numa

Kagami means mirror in Japanese.. theres no question why this place is named that.. something I pass one of my favourite trail run routes..
ShirakabaShirakaba
Shirakaba

My favourite trees here, look like they are covered in silver..
Another car camping stopAnother car camping stop
Another car camping stop

Thanx HEAPS MB! this is the only pic I have of them. You saved me!


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb