Playing Catch up?


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido
May 6th 2007
Published: May 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Back in SydneyBack in SydneyBack in Sydney

LAst dinner before heading back to japan..
Hmm… well its must be at least 7,8 months since I last updated this blog, no excuses really, just been really busy and living in a place with no internet connection which has been both a blessing and a curse at the same time.
So I’ll try and update my movements since my last blog as briefly as I can, and then as usual, just leave it up to the pics to take care of the rest.

- Last year Nov-Dec: finally made my way home to Aus, was great seeing everyone and getting my dose of proper sunshine, vegemite, woolworths and walking around bare foot without being looked at like a homeless bum (that’s a no-no in Japan)..

- 06’07’ season: The snow fall this season was nothing compared to last season, which made it a lot easier to focus on other things that needed to get done and that evil word - work. All in all was still a great season and got into back country riding, learning more about avalanches and how they occur, how to test for them etc. which was really interesting. Did a few hikes here, up Mt. Yotei, Nimi, Iwao and
Back in SydneyBack in SydneyBack in Sydney

Chewy, me and Doof...
Asahidake and realized the stages in every climb where you start off really excited thinking ‘this is great’ and can’t get your gear on fast enough, this changes to a slight ‘my legs are tired, my bag and board is a bit heavy’ after another few hours, this changes to ‘why am I doing this? Is it too late to turn around?’ to ‘I’m soooo tired, my legs are numb’ after that your body and mind disconnect, and my body was almost like a machine, just going up one leg after the other, me on the other hand I just feel like I am sitting along enjoying the ride, like being on a train or something, its really weird. But all in all, there’s no better feeling than when you reach the top and have lunch / beer and take it all in.

- During the season heaps of ppl came up to visit which was great and kept the season really interesting. We also checked out other resorts like Furano, Rutsusu and Kiroro and had awesome park riding sessions once the powder was gone.

- Feb: Sou and Ai-chans wedding. These two met when Sou came to
Mt. Asahidake Mt. Asahidake Mt. Asahidake

4 hr hike to the top, leathal ride down on rocks hidden by thin layers of snow, had the funeral of one of my boards here.
visit one season at the lodge where I was working and she was a guest. Less than two years later I am at their wedding, was my first traditional Japanese wedding and did my best to get my speech out in Japanese after downing more than a few drinks to calm the nerves. The ceremony was really an amazing process with heaps of processes that have their own meanings, like rotating and passing a branch with leaves to each other, and recitation of traditional scripts etc. etc. I stopped asking what each meant after about the first ten and just sat back and enjoyed the show. Trevor and I spent the following 5 days cruising Hiroshima and this island (forgot the name) which was really cool. I’ll leave it up to the pics for that one.



Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Mt. Asahidake Mt. Asahidake
Mt. Asahidake

stage one: excitement...
Mt. Asahidake Mt. Asahidake
Mt. Asahidake

some hikers before us, pathing the way
Mt. Asahidake Mt. Asahidake
Mt. Asahidake

stage two: halfway there and smiling
Mt. Asahidake Mt. Asahidake
Mt. Asahidake

Almost to the top
Dinner @ RinDinner @ Rin
Dinner @ Rin

Elise, Masumi and Maxer
What you do when the snow is crapWhat you do when the snow is crap
What you do when the snow is crap

Hitomi, Max and Elise, when the snow is not worth boarding we decided to try skiing..
space conservation.space conservation.
space conservation.

Max and Elise bit cramped in the back of my car..with four boards and way too much gear
Dinner @ Bang BangsDinner @ Bang Bangs
Dinner @ Bang Bangs

Elise, max, yuu, hitomi and yuki chillin at Bang Bang's
Dinner @ Bang BangsDinner @ Bang Bangs
Dinner @ Bang Bangs

just another kodak moment..
NimiNimi
Nimi

Hiking a mountain out at Nimi
NimiNimi
Nimi

Yamazaki-san, Keith, Naoko and Trevor.. I was outnumberd by skiiers for the first time.
NimiNimi
Nimi

Digging avalanche-check pits..
Sou and Ai's wedding in NaraSou and Ai's wedding in Nara
Sou and Ai's wedding in Nara

Traditional wedding attire
Sou and Ai\Sou and Ai\
Sou and Ai\

Sou practicing the branch ritual, with pre-wedding nerves at full blast at this time.
Sou and Ai's weddingSou and Ai's wedding
Sou and Ai's wedding

Family & friends... yes, I did have to wear a dress for the first time in at least a year.
Sou and Ai\Sou and Ai\
Sou and Ai\

Moving to the reception, the car has a special hatch so Ai and her hat can get in...
Sou and Ai\\Sou and Ai\\
Sou and Ai\\

Change of dress (kimino) at the reception.
Sou and Ai\\\\Sou and Ai\\\\
Sou and Ai\\\\

Sou and Ais family


Tot: 0.265s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb