Sapporo day 1


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido » Sapporo
November 4th 2013
Published: November 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

In the bus on our way to the Sapporo Beer Garten I had a laughing fit over something Diana was saying. I accidentally hit my head against the seat in front of me and broke the frame of my glasses. Not a great way to start the vacation. Near the beer garden strangely, enough, there was a hobby store. We went in and started looking for glue. Not having any success I broke out the dictionary and looked up the word for glue (nori) and went to the counter. I showed them my glasses and asked: Nori wa arimasu ka? They picked some glue from the shelf behind them and showed it to me. It looked like super glue for plastics but I was not sure as I could not read the label. I pointed to the broken glasses and then the glue and asked: ok? They both studied the package for a while and then took the tube out of the package. They then opened the tube and handed me the glue for me to fix my glasses while I was waiting at the counter! I thanked them and started to glue my glasses back together. I realized I couldn't fix them properly while at the store so I put down the tube and glasses and took out my wallet to pay. I pushed the coin towards him to buy the glue but he looked at it and said no, no, and pushed it back towards me. Unsure of what he meant, I pushed the coin back towards him again. He repeated, pushing the coin back, not allowing me to pay. This comic situation went on for a few minutes until I realized I needed to say I have to keep the tube to use later. That concept was far too complicated for my ten word vocabulary. So I finally just said: Nori o kudasei? (Can I have some glue please) he finally understood I needed to keep it and went to the rack and got a newunopened tube of glue and gave it to me for my money.

So now my glasses are fixed and I can see the beautiful fall colors in the parks. The city is full of Maples and Ginkgos and they are at their peak just now. We also noticed that signs are very careful to warn you of dangers while walking through the park.

Oyasumi nasai.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb