Japanese Weirdness


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido » Sapporo
September 2nd 2009
Published: September 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

So first of all, I tried rice and tororo... basically a mixture of sticky, gooey foods such as okra and ground yagaimo. Definately not my favourite. Yagaimo just tastes like starch, and raw okra is icky tasting (but I don't mind it cooked).
That was pretty much the only intersting thing which happened Friday, as well as the rest of the weekend.

Two days ago (Monday), was also uneventful, except perhaps at dinner, when otoosan said something very strange. "I was gay." Whaaaat?! Mioka and okaasan immediately cried out "Uso!Uso!" or "He kids/lies!" He later explained to us that earlier he had heard a story about how a famous sports player had shouted "I was gay!" across the field one day. He was married at the time.

Otoosan also said something odd while driving to the grocery store on Tuesday. He started out commenting "Ipai," which then turned into "Ipai, opai, cherry pie." I laughed. And everyone thougt that both us were weird.
Tuesday was the day when being at school was as bad as that time of the lockdown. They kept us after class for an extra half hour (it could have been longer since the teachers were having asudden urgent meeting.) And it was all because of the flu. Apparently, there's a new influenza virus floating around Japan, and of course everyone is paranoid. Three third year students have caught it, which was why the meeting was held. It has been decided that for those classes to which these students belong to, no longer need to come to school for the rest of the week, for fear of spreading the virus. Paranoia much? Really, it's only the flu, especially when you consider that no one has died yet. The only problem is that normal antibiotics don't seem to work as well as with the regular strain. And I wish I was in one of those three classes. =[
To be honest, I'm hoping someone is class 1-4 catches it next week so that I can miss school. I'm sure the rest of the class will also be happy considering next week is finals. ^_^ Those poor, unfortunate souls. (Which is probably what people think about me during the weeks leading up to cut-off. >_<)

Today we had swimming again in PE. If I catch influenza, I will most definately blame the PE class. The pool is absolutely FRIGID! It's an outdoor pool and has no heating. And it isn't that warm in Sapporo at the moment. I never want to swim in that pool again. EVER. Luckily, students are easily exempt from swimming class if they are too tired. Once again, another example of Japan's safety/health paranoia. A fear of drowning due to exhaustion in a pool which barely comes over my waist. >_< *sigh* Yet, despite this paranoia, they can't rescue an unconscious person worth beans. Just drag them by the head to rescue an unconscious victim. I would correct my teacher, if only I could speak a little better. If you're going to try and rescue someone like that, I hope to god they aren't unconcious because of a spinal injury. You'll only make it worse.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0699s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb