Japan: Day 2


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido » Sapporo
October 11th 2008
Published: October 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

TrioTrioTrio

All three cuzes -- Nick, Mike, and me.
My trip up north today was fairly uneventful. Despite not knowing a lick of Japanese (I counted up today -- I know 5 words total), I managed to get on the train, transfer twice, check in and get on a plane, and even get food. Not bad for a completely foreing country. It's funny -- whenever I needed to say something, I had a reflex to say it in Spanish. If only... The train system was actually pretty nice. Very clean, quick, efficient, and cheap. They even have TVs in the local "metro" trains. High tech. I was struck by the generous variety of hairstyles. I felt like I was looking through one of those books at the hair salon -- ranging from garrish to quite stylish. I also noticed how everyone seems to have better fashion sense here. I think I need to go shopping...

The flight again was a first -- the first time I rode in a plane with an upstairs. Rows 71-89 upstairs! Dang that's big. Bonus: we got a bird's eye view as the nose-camera and belly-cameras displayed our view on the monitors. Mike, Nick, and Nick's girlfriend Megumi met me at the airport. It
Pokemon!Pokemon!Pokemon!

They actually had a plane painted like Pokemon!
was nice because Mayumi has a car so it was a comfortable ride back to Nick's place. It was the second time I had ridden in a Japanese car (the first was yesterday when someone offered me a ride from the terminal). It's still weird that the cars are backwards and they drive on the other side of the road. Out of all the traveling I've done, it's my first time in a country where the driving is reversed. As we were going down the road, we passed another car that had a golden retriever tied up in the front seat. It was really funny because for a second it looked like the dog was driving. We actually stopped at McDonalds on the way back. I've added McDonalds to my short list of "musts" when in other countries (the other is snagging a beer glass with the local brew on it). I always find it interesting to see what unique menu items appear in various McDonalds (this also works within the US). PS the one here doesn't have sushi (I was hoping!) but they do have a teriyaki burger and a shrimp burger. As well as a mega burger (4
CuzCuzCuz

me and Mike
patties!). The teriyaki burger was pretty good actually.

After a quite enjoyable nap, we headed out for dinner with friends. While I did have one piece of sashimi, it wasn't the sushi dinner I was hoping for -- not yet... The food was ok, the beer was weird (I held off on Sapporo since we're going to the brewery), and much of the conversation was in Japanese. On the plus side, I increased my vocabulary by at least three times! Our next stop was to Rad 2 -- one of the famed unlimited drinking bars. It was pretty nice actually! Even though I wasn't really in the mood to drink, it ended up being a pretty fun night! I even found a drink that I fell in love with -- they make drinks with milk and flavored vodkas which are surprisingly good! Actually tasted just like strawberry quick. Between those and the B-52 shots we all had, it was a good night and I got my money's worth 😊 (though $20 isn't hard to spend at a bar). We also made some good friends tonight. Megumi had a few friends meet us out -- one was a sushi chef at a local hotel, where we should be having lunch tomorrow. All in all, it was a fun cuz-bonding night 😊 Now, as I write this, Mike is a drunk mess on the floor next to me, and Nick is laying on top of him trying to get him to go to bed. Haha.... entertaining. Brotherly love....


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Yum!Yum!
Yum!

My drink of the night -- strawberry choco milk-ou haha that's how you make anything Japanese (add ou)
Rad 2Rad 2
Rad 2

Fun bar! We made new friends there -- all 3 of those girls are nurses! neat
Rad 2Rad 2
Rad 2

Yo-ichi (the sushi chef), Nick and Megumi
Rad 2Rad 2
Rad 2

my new best friend -- haha one of the nurses we met out
Rad 2Rad 2
Rad 2

William and Yo-ichi -- 2 friends of Nick and Megumi who met us out
Rad 2Rad 2
Rad 2

Our new nurse friends and Matt -- Nick's friend.
Rad 2Rad 2
Rad 2

Our waiter, who didn't even tell us he spoke English until the end of the night! too funny...
Rad 2Rad 2
Rad 2

Hahah how cute! It does look a little gay though...
Rad 2Rad 2
Rad 2

to make up for the gayness. Good times...


11th October 2008

Looks like fun. So how are you doing with your 9 Japanese words? lol
11th October 2008

HI
HEY AS USUAL I AM ENJOYING TRAVELING WITH YOU. I WOULD HOWEVER LOVED TO HAVE SEEN PICS OF MY FAV PASSED OUT ON THE FLOOR. LOL YOU ALL LOOK GREAT AND LOOK LIKE YOUR HAVING A GREAT TIME. TELL THE BOYS WE SAID HI!!!!! STAY SAFE, LOVE YA CUZ
12th October 2008

cuz
What a great looking bunch! Is the next wedding we attend happening in Sapporo?
12th October 2008

I'm up to like 15 words now! haha A lot of english words are dropped -- they just add ou or u or e. Sometimes I can kind of follow along. Not as easy as Swedish to pick up. Sorry Meem, next time I'll have to pull out the camera for you!

Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.037s; cc: 11; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0938s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb