Sandals in the Snow


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido » Sapporo
February 23rd 2007
Published: February 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Snow GorillaSnow GorillaSnow Gorilla

Something poetic and fitting about this.
I’m in Japan and drinking absinthe. What more can I say. I have to say I’ve thoroughly enjoyed my time here in Sapporo. I can go out anytime I want and meet these beautiful Japanese girls who are presented perfectly. And I can approach them and that night will be fantastic on any level you can imagine. But they are not a serious type of girl. Some time I feel like a tourist attraction. The kind of thing you want to have fun with, but don’t want to bring home to your family or your friends. If I can reconcile myself to that fact. I will have a wonderful time here in the land of the rising sun.

Recently, I have taken in to of Sapporo’s most important events, the annual snow festival and the opening ceremonies of the 2007 Nordic Skiing World Championships. Both were sugoi. Great! Although, I did view the snow festival in an absolute driving blizzard. But in Sapporo no one seems to care. Everyone just goes about their business as if mass quantities of snow was not descending upon their brow.

The opening ceremonies last night was great. Like a mini-olympics. It was moving
Snow FestivalSnow FestivalSnow Festival

A couple of weeks ago all of Sapporo and many visitors came out to see the Yuki Matsuri.
to hear the Japanese national anthem played as they raised that Japanese flag with the mercurial red dot. What does it all mean. Then they had these traditional Japanese dancers in the snow. It actually produced chills in the audience. The ladies in dark blue kimono with their Japanese parasols were particularly exotic in a Hokkaido winter way. To me they seemed like a feminine perfection, but a perfection that would always hold you at arms length and forever remain an enigma.

Japan is a great place. I love my students, and I sense how much they are having fun and enjoying being in my class and its great. I am trying not to be so much of a Japanese mini skirt chaser, but it’s difficult ne. Especially whenever I am out I see these beautiful alluring feminine beings. I want to stay good and be a true man of substance. I’d love to meet a pure hearted serious Japanese girl who wants to spend more than at most a couple of crazy fleeting nights with me. Where is my ii kokoro no jose?

Time will tell. Oyasumi.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0754s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb