Shiawase Deshita


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido » Sapporo
December 9th 2006
Published: December 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sapporo ElvesSapporo ElvesSapporo Elves

Sapporo Beer in Odori's German Christmas Market.
I can't believe I've been here in Japan for exactly four months now. I can't believe I haven't written anything about it! Perhaps because there are far too many stories to tell. Practically everyday something happens here. And the weekends? Oh my god. I can't even begin to describe them. Last Friday I was out until 6am. The next night I was out until 10am! I am constantly meeting new people. Here in Sapporo I know pretty much all the bartenders, gaijin, and many Japanese girls. This city is very small so you get to know everywhere and everyone pretty quick. I can go out by myself anytime and can be pretty much guarenteed to run into someone I know to hangout with. My keitai, cellphone, is bulging with phone numbers and memories of crazy nights out in Susukino. I still have to pinch myself when I think about the stuff that went on in the club last weekend.

I love it here in Sapporo. The snow started about two weeks ago. And now will be on the ground to early April. It snows literally everyday here. It is a perpetual winter wonderland. I think it feels strange if I
I am hereI am hereI am here

Sapporo Subway Map
look up and snow isn't falling from the sky. But life goes on as normal. The roads are always covered with snow, think ski slope slick. There is an ice sheet on most streets. But everyone just deals. The girls still wear high heels and manage not to break their ankles. I walk to school amongst Japanese school girls in mini skirts and these high fuzzy brown boots. I can't understand how they are not cold. I am dressed like I'm trekking in the Arctic.

It feels strange to be going home for my Christmas holiday. I leave next week. Part of me is glad to be coming home and seeing my family and friends, eating Taco Bell, and watching college basketball. But part of me wants to stay here where I got all this stuff going on. I miss America far less than I thought I would. And its not like I'm turning Japanese or anything. I'm just kind of happy where ever I am. And Sapporo is a damn good place to live. There aren't too many Gaijin here, so you don't feel like you're hanging with the same old crowd. But Sapporo also feels like a North American style city where you feel very comfortable. I definitely made the right choice.

I studied Japanese on my own for the first three months, but this last month I've been very busy with new responsiblities so I've slacked off. When I get back I'll try to get back into it. Anyway to sign off I'll spit a few words of nihongo.

Watashi wa Sapporo de shiawase deshita. Ima Susukino ni shashin o tori ni ikimasu. Raishuumatsu New York ni kaerimasu. Jaa mata.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.37s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 30; qc: 125; dbt: 0.1784s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb