Day 10 - Hakodate


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido » Hakodate
December 25th 2013
Published: December 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

MERRY CHRISTMAS from Hakodate!!!



Today I wandered round the fish morning markets (like the locals) and enjoy the smell of fresh seafood, which I missed massively since I don't get that in England much.

The hotel didn't include breakfast so I had brunch at the local market - Raw Tuna rice and it tasted so good.

So fresh!



Then I went back to wander round the old Brick Warehouse and had another look at the shops.

I even ventured into 2 museums - Kahei Takadaya and Ryoma Sakamoto. Both of them were from Hakodate and have left interesting Japanese history. Ryoma Sakamoto was featured in one of the massively annual Japanese historical drama.



Then I ate again.

I think this trip more like eating my way through Hokkaido more than ever.



After that I went up the Hakodate Ropeway as Hakodate night view is one of the three famous night views (the other two being Hong Kong and New York which I have experienced both already).

And it was gorgeous.

The lights and the Bay Area and the harbour.



I also indulged in a limited edition ice-cream - only available in Hakodate.

It was massively milky and smooth. And the cone was very crunchy.



I went up to the Catholic Church and had a look afterwards, when I was on my way down back to to town.



I had dinner at the Hakodate Beer Brewery and enjoyed 4 different types of locally brewed beer.

I ordered a green apple beer too - that was nice.

Then I ordered a different one that stated it's 10% alcohol and only the boss drinks it.

It's really weird.

Tasted a bit funny.

A bit like sec rather than beer.

The boss has funny taste.



Then the fireworks went off at the Christmas Fantasy and I caught a few glimpse of it.



More Hakodate tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb