Shishido Sensei- a teacher unselfishly offering her love


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido » Hakodate
April 1st 2006
Published: June 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I watched as Shishido Sensei slowly but purposely lifted the hishaku (bamboo ladle) out of the kettle three-quarters full of hot water and gracefully poured it into the waiting chawan – or tea bowl. When there was the right amount in there, of which only a well-practiced eye could tell, she returned the rest to the kettle and placed the hishaku back on the iron pot in the exact same position it was before. In the same fluid movement, she picked up the chasen, the special bamboo whisk, and with a fast yet continuous rotary motion, whisked the green tea until it was nice and foamy on top. I watched the process captivated by her elegant movements; she made it look so lovely and easy. I knew at once that I wanted to learn how to do that.

It was my first Japanese tea ceremony lesson and I had been introduced to Shishido Sensei by one of the other exchange students in my dormitory. To be honest, I wasn’t really sure that I wanted to learn the art of the tea ceremony, as I thought it would be rather boring; however after meeting Shishido Sensei, I knew that I wanted to know more about it and more about her. Her warmth came through straight away, as did her passion for this traditional art.

On that first day she patiently explained in easy-to-understand Japanese the process of the tea ceremony and the roles of all the people involved. She showed me all the utensils that are used and told me their names in Japanese, good-naturedly repeating them when I forgot.

Over the next year, I got to know this kind and warm lady and all that she offered the number of exchange students who came to her small town in Japan. She opened up her home and freely gave lessons to all who wished to learn. Our lessons were every Saturday and although they officially went for two hours, we were often there for much longer. She would patiently teach us all she knew about the “way of tea” and correct our robotic and sharp movements until they were at least somewhat graceful like hers. However, the best part of the lesson was when we finished our formal instruction and sat around drinking tea and eating the sweets that she generously provided and chatted about our latest news.
Tea CeremonyTea CeremonyTea Ceremony

This is the winter style, where the "kettle" is sunk into the ground. There is some coal heating it.

Living in a foreign country can be hard, being away from family and friends, but Shishido Sensei became my surrogate mother, as she had done with the handful of exchange students before me and no doubt the ones after me. I loved the way she covered her mouth elegantly with her hand when she smiled or laughed, as is quite common in Japan, and how she would listen intently to troubles we were having with our Japanese studies or life in a foreign country. I loved the way her eyes lit up when we talked about the previous exchange students that she had gotten to know and even visited at times. It was so obvious she did it because she loved it.

Shishido Sensei would also take us to local restaurants around town and invite us over for dinner through the week; she introduced us to her family and was always there when we needed advice or someone to talk to. She fretted over us when we were sick and sent us home with fresh fruit to make sure we were eating healthily and would worry about us when we traveled. Just like a real mother would do.
Practicing the way of teaPracticing the way of teaPracticing the way of tea

This style is a little different. It's used more when you're praticing.

Shishido Sensei may not be the most well-known member of her community but to the exchange students who spend time in the small town of Hakodate in Japan, she will always be remembered. She’ll be remembered for helping us understand and appreciate a beautiful traditional art but most importantly for unselfishly supplying her love and kindness whenever it is needed. And for that I will forever be grateful.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

LaughterLaughter
Laughter

A common sight in Japan: Shishido Sensei covering her mouth as she laughs


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb