Lessons from Japan


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido » Hakodate
February 20th 2005
Published: January 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

HakodateHakodateHakodate

The view from the top of Hakodate mountain
Japan and I, we've had our ups and downs. Our journey together started back in February of 2005 and although I left her shores in June 2010, my deep love for this life-changing and soul-catching place will continue forever. This is our story.

It was early in the morning one day in February, about 9 degrees Celsius, and I was sitting outside Narita International Airport in Tokyo. I had a very large and extremely heavy suitcase stuffed full of everything I would need, and more importantly, a backpack with photos and mementos from home to help me stay connected and feel loved in the lonely moments I was sure were to come. I was all alone, cold, and I won’t lie, scared. What was I doing here? Why had I decided to do this? Was I crazy?

I was on my way to Hakodate, a smallish city (for Japan) with a population of about 300,000 situated in Hokkaido, the northernmost island. I was going to be living there for the next 11 months studying Japanese. This was something I had wanted to do for so long, ever since I started to learn Japanese at school when I was 12.
PurifyingPurifyingPurifying

Washing my hands before entering a shrine
This was my dream becoming a reality and now that it had started, I wasn’t even sure I wanted it anymore. The lead up to my departure was so hectic with all the preparations and the good-byes that this was the first moment it really hit me: I was here by myself in a country I hardly knew anything about, in a country that spoke a totally different language from me, in a country whose culture was so different, and in a country where I knew nobody.

A few hours later, Hakodate came into view as I looked out the small window of my plane down onto the snow covered city that was to be my home. It was much smaller and much more isolated than I thought it would be, and it made me feel even more alone. I actually started to shake. What if nobody was there to meet me? What if they lost my luggage? What if I just couldn’t understand anything anyone said? What if I couldn’t make any friends? What if…? What if…?

11 months later I was at my farewell party with all the friends I had made, speaking Japanese confidently and feeling like I was the independent and outgoing girl I always knew I could be. I thought back to that first day and could recall exactly how I was feeling. I was so unsure of everything. However, Japan had turned out to be so much more than I ever expected.

It was a year’s worth of Japanese classes with some fantastic teachers, who went out of their way to make everything interesting. They took us to museums to explain indigenous Japanese culture; to a beautiful temple where we actually practiced Zen with real monks; to shrines where we learned about the Japanese religion of Shinto and how they ring in the New Year; to delicious Japanese restaurants where we sampled Japanese cuisine; and to a hot spring resort where we relaxed in an outside spring in the mountains.

It was a year’s worth of fun memories with friends. We went to many traditional Japanese festivals throughout the year; we learned to snowboard in the winter; had parties under the beautiful cherry blossom trees in the spring; watched fireworks in the summer; went hiking in the autumn; sang our favorite songs at karaoke; took tea ceremony lessons; and traveled
SakuraSakuraSakura

Enjoying the beautiful trees with friends
to as many new places as we could.

Traveling and immersing myself in a culture was the best learning experience for me! It taught me that dreams are achievable and that it’s not as scary as you think it will be. I gained so much confidence from that year that I decided I had to make it back to Japan, and here I am again - back in Japan. It’s been years now and I can’t help thinking that if I hadn’t made that decision to come to Japan way back then, life would be so different.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb