Summer Festival Season!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hiroshima
August 13th 2006
Published: January 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Summer in Japan is really an endless festival. Actually festivals in general in Japan are endless....but the summer is the peak season.

For my last weekend in Innoshima, I attended the Habu fireworks. I'd like to think is was a farewell party for me, but actually it was the kickoff to summer holidays. Never before have I felt more like a celebrity! Cruising down the mainstreet with Dana, we were pretty much greeted by everyone that passed by. Every student knew either one of us, and stopped with their families to say hello, take a picture, or just wave. It was awesome! It was the last time I saw most of the Innoshima locals....I'm really going to miss that place.

The Onomichi fireworks the next weekend were phenomenal! There is a mountain in Onomichi that overlooks the sea...this is the ideal viewing spot for the fireworks that explode from a barge on the water. Warm weather, friends, food and drink made it a memorable evening.

Let me explain that a festival is not only the fireworks that go off at night. Starting at about 4 in the afternoon, usually it's the main street that shuts down except to pedestrian traffic. Food and drink stalls go up, where you eat typical festival food including noodles, fried chicken, crushed ice and beer. In the summer, men and women dress in a traditional yukata, which is a casual form of a kimono. I think they all look beautiful!

The next weekend I went to Festa de Rama with my friend Misako. It was a reggae and ska hippie fest held on the next island over from me, Setoda. What I love about music festivals here is the relaxed nature of everyone. People chilled out on their blankets, covered from the sun (because tans aren't cool.....my kind of place!), and everyone likes everyone. I met a lot of great people and saw some amazing performances by really great Japanese bands. I came away a fan......

Besides fireworks, another popular kind of summer festival is a festival for traditional dance. I went to watch one in Fukuyama, and I participated in the Mihara Dance Festival. It's another town that was in my general area. Groups of people gathered a team to dance is this parade through the city. Ours was the "foreigner team", and we danced for hours in a line of hundreds of people! Although we didn't win the prize for best performance, I think we were a highlight for many viewers who were shocked to see us out there! Not everyone can dance in the parade, but our special treatment as important people pulled through yet again for an unforgettable night. It was so exciting!

My final summer festival was the Miyajima fireworks - the absolute best display I've ever seen. One of the most prominent symbols of Japan is the torii gate floating in the water at Miyajima. It was a breathtaking setup for an unbelievable show.

The neverending stream of festivals kept me busy...and each one made me want to stay in Japan even more and more. My sister arrives next week, and we're going to tour around the 'hot spots' before returning home. It's going to be hard to say goodbye to such a wonderful place.



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

hula timehula time
hula time

Innoshima
a frenzy of photographersa frenzy of photographers
a frenzy of photographers

Miyajima Fireworks
the sky is dark...the sky is dark...
the sky is dark...

the torii gate before the Miyajima Fireworks
wowwow
wow

Miyajima Fireworks
again...wowagain...wow
again...wow

Miyajima Fireworks
a festival enjoyed by all agesa festival enjoyed by all ages
a festival enjoyed by all ages

Festa de Rame, Setoda
rock on boys!rock on boys!
rock on boys!

Festa de Rame, Setoda


17th January 2007

Dine Out!
Well, Heather, you'll be dining out on that celebration for a long time to come! The festival of all festivals! I think I'd like to hang out at them, dance and take in the fireworks and food! Great pics!

Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 75; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb