Go Carps!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hiroshima
May 20th 2006
Published: June 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Carps are the Hiroshima baseball team. Team colours: red and white. Team logo: "All In".

This weekend I had the opportunity to go to a game in Hiroshima city to see the Carps play the Nippon Hams from Hokkaido. The Carps won! I am a fan of baseball, so I enjoyed watching the game. However the highlight of the day was to see how enthusiastic the fans get at the games! Everyone, and I mean ev-er-y-one dresses in Carps paraphernalia, or at least red and white. We're talking shirts, hats, towels, horns, ballons, bags, drinking glasses.....I had a red t-shirt, and bought a Carps baseball cap in attempts to "blend in"!

On top of all the stuff were the many cheers. Everyone seemed to know when to do what cheer, and it got a full effort from everyone in the crowd. It reminded me of the glory days at the SkyDome (eer, the Roger's Centre??) in 1992 and 1993 when nothing could be better than Blue Jays excitement! OK ok, BLUE JAYS Blue Jays, LET'S let's, PLAY play, BALL!. The Hiroshima seventh inning stretch ritual is to blow up large, long balloons, and let them all go
enjoying our bentos....enjoying our bentos....enjoying our bentos....

....maybe a little too much Brandon?!
at the sound of the buzzer. Everyone brought their own, or bought them at the shop. It looked pretty cool.

We were served bentos (lunch boxes) when we arrived, and given a cup for the nomehodai (all-you-can-drink) beer. Brandon, Dana and I made it on the "jumbo-tron" (big screen)....and with no effort! I always tried so hard when I was younger at the SkyDome to be on the screen with the "My Dad wants to see me on TSN" signs....I guess being a group of foreigners amoungst so many Japanese makes us stand out pretty easily! With all this and the sun shining, it turned out to be a perfect day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

the stadiumthe stadium
the stadium

with thousands of people dressed in red and white
officially Carps fans!officially Carps fans!
officially Carps fans!

Casey and I join in the Carps fashion trend


Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 81; dbt: 0.0669s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb