A catch up: special sushi, visits with teachers and a day at the Glass Museum


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hiroshima
March 7th 2006
Published: March 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This last couple of weeks have been farely low-key for me. I've been relaxing, enjoying life, and getting ready for when my Mom, Dad, Gramma and Aunt Sue come next week. (I'M SO EXCITED!) Some highlights have been girl shaped sushi, visits with teachers, and a day at the Glass Museum....oh, and work 😊

On March 3rd it was the "Girls Festival Day" in Japan. It's a special day for girls, and families celebrate with parties, special food and gifts at home. Girls get these really elaborate dolls as gifts, usually from their grandmothers. Some of them come with stages that are 1m X 1m! They are huge! When I got home from work that day, I got a telephone call from one of the English teachers that I work with, Katayama-sensei. She is always dropping by my house with food that she has cooked for me....I think she's worried that I will become malnourished without parents looking after me! Anyway, she came by with girl-shaped sushi which are a special dish that that day! They were so cute!

Last weekend I was invited to a teacher's house for the day on Saturday. Mr. Okuhara is a teacher at Ikuchi Junior High School. I don't work with him (in other words, he's not an English teacher), however we always chat in the staff room. He is a major fan of the Beatles, especially Paul McCartney, so as you can guess we have a lot to talk about! He picked me up in Innoshima and drove me to his house in Mukaishima (a neighbouring island), where I met his wife. The three of us spent the day listening to music, playing the guitar, watching DVDs, and also watching his piano play by itself (so cool!). His wife was in and out the entire time, making us tea, coffee, cakes, mochi (a rice snack)....apparently this is typical Japanese housewive activity. We did go out for dinner though, which gave her a break! We had fantastic okonomiyaki, which I think has won the spot for my favourite Japanese food.

This weekend I went to Hiroshima to check things out for when my family comes. I roamed around the city on Saturday....it was a beautiful 'almost spring' day. I stayed with my friend Stacey's that night and we met a group of English teachers for dinner. On Sunday, we took a trip to the Hiroshima Glass Museum just outside of the city. It was a really weird place.....a museum, and amusement park for children, and a craft shop. 'Venice in Japan' could be one description of the place, or 'Tourist-trap-in-the-middle-of-nowhere Land' could be another. Either way, I'm glad I went. We skipped the museum and went to the Glass Castle. Basically it was a house full of funny mirrors....I can see the appeal for children. Although it was kind of pricey, we decided to make some crafts since we had ventured so far to get there. We had the options of stained-glass, bead making, painting glassware and blowing glass. Stacey decorated a little keep-sake box, and I made a stained-glass window hanging. It was a lot of fun, and we came away with great souvenirs.

Good times. My next entry will be after the McLean's meet Japan....yeah!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

great Innoshima skylinegreat Innoshima skyline
great Innoshima skyline

thought it looked cool with the sun and gray sky....on my bike ride home from work
at the Glass Castleat the Glass Castle
at the Glass Castle

fun with the warped mirrors!
Glass GlobeGlass Globe
Glass Globe

"for clean and beautiful earth"
A-Bomb Dome, HiroshimaA-Bomb Dome, Hiroshima
A-Bomb Dome, Hiroshima

a sunny day in Hiroshima city....great for walking through the Peace Park


19th March 2006

Neat Stuff!
Wow! I think they should have "Girls' Day" here too! Your stained glass looks excellent. You have done a lot of crafty and creative things there. What is in your favourite food?

Tot: 0.396s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 77; dbt: 0.3085s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb