Yachiyo-cho, Akitakata-shi arrival!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hiroshima
August 2nd 2005
Published: September 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Yachiyo-choYachiyo-choYachiyo-cho

This is where I live
On the 2nd of August I flew from Tokyo to Hiroshima where I was met by my future supervisor and another English teacher. It was about 40 Cel. that day, and I had to wear a full suit. I thought I was going to melt! Actually, I was pretty sure I was going to melt when they explained to me that the air conditioner in my new apartment had been hit by lightening and would take 3-5 days to fix!
The drive from the airport was very pretty. We drove though the countryside and into the mountains.. which, as I discovered, is where Yachiyo-cho (my town) is. The population of Yachiyo-cho is 3,000 or 4,000, but it seems much smaller. I think that I have actually been introduced to just about everyone here in the last month.
The fact that there are no grocery stores within a 30 min. drive from here is proof that I am out in the middle of nowhere. In Yachiyo-cho we have one 7-Eleven, and 2 hardware stores. Oh, there is also a restaurant, but it only has 6 tables in it, and it smells really bad!



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Path to Yoshida BOEPath to Yoshida BOE
Path to Yoshida BOE

I walk along this path every Friday morning to get to the neighbouring towns Board of Education
The Yachiyo-cho choirThe Yachiyo-cho choir
The Yachiyo-cho choir

This pic is from an O-Bon festival that took place at one of the shrines in Yachiyo-cho. For the record: I was actually invited to join them!
O-Bon dancing in Yachiyo-choO-Bon dancing in Yachiyo-cho
O-Bon dancing in Yachiyo-cho

Traditional O-Bon dancing
Some of my new studentsSome of my new students
Some of my new students

Japanese have the cutest kids!


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb