The toilet seat is warm!!!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hiroshima » Hiroshima
December 9th 2007
Published: December 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I made it! I tackled the Auckland airport, the 11 hour flight, Kansai airport (where I was finger-printed, wow!), and the shinkansen to Hiroshimna. The shinkansen was an absolute killer. It was about 1am NZ time, and I just wanted to sleep, but couldn't risk missing the right stop (obviously).
First impressions of Japan... it has an interesting smell. The people seem to know exactly what they're doing, where they're going - they all have a definite purpose. Not many smiles or colours, really. Not many blonde people either. I have only seen one so far, and that's when I'm looking in the mirror. Mwahaha. But I'm really enjoying it - have been to a shopping mall and Hiroshima zoo so far. Totemo tanshikatta!
The food is slightly difficult to deal with, and I get extremely nervous at every meal (haha)but I think my host mother (who is lovely) has picked up on my picky-ness, because she kindly bought me Mos Burger (like McDonalds) for lunch. :-) I have already made some faux pas with my chopsticks - dropped them, slopped food over the table, you name it. There is now a fork by my plate at every meal.
The shower is so nice. So is the toilet seat. It's nice and toasty. Haven't been game enough to press the special little buttons that apparently clean your 'unders', in the words of Borat, but I'm very curious about them...
I'm sleeping on a futon!! On the first night I had no idea which way my head was meant to go, but I'm pretty sure I sussed it out now.
I'm speaking Japanese nearly all the time, not sure just how many mistakes I'm making, but judging by the strange looks and hidden grins I'm pretty sure I'm not going to turn completely Japanese any time soon.

Going to school tomorrow... will write more later.

Advertisement



9th December 2007

She has Internet access!
Yay! Shivvy's in Japaaaaaan. Thanks for giving all these details, I'm really excited for even more. Good luck for your first day of school and for the rest of your stay! Write often!
10th December 2007

Wow. First Impressions huh?!
Yay for your first official blog. I can tell I'm going to enjoy reading these! I bet I'd be useless with chopsticks too. Pretty much everyone else knows how to use them aside from me! I dare you to try the buttons for your 'unders'! Go on... ;) Love from me!
11th December 2007

SHIBBY IS IN HIROSHIMA! The toasty toilet seats were indeed a surprise when I went there, but they're awesome since Hiroshima is like... very cold around now. <3

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb