Arrival in Japan


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Fukuoka
May 18th 2006
Published: May 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

May 18th - Fukuoka

Arrived in Japan safely. The flight wasn’t bad at all. Flying into Tokyo, I used Japan Airlines. They had the most courteous and friendly staff out of any airlines that I have ever been on, and the airplane was pretty high tech. You had your own computer terminal positioned in the seat in front of you. You could select from over 5 movies to play, several games, tv shows, and radio. Very cool. I watched the new Producers movie and the new King Kong. King Kong was horrible by the way. I’m glad I didn’t spend real money on it. The Producers, on the other hand, was awesome. Mel Brooks wrote and directed the original movie back in the 60’s I believe, and in 2001, he re-released it on Broadway. This new movie is just a movie version of the Broadway hit. I’ve never seen Will Ferrel funnier.

I’ll say this now, and you’ll here me say this again. Japan is weird. Also expensive. A ‘cheap’ meal seems to be running around 10 dollars. Well, they have a few fast food restraints that are a bit cheaper, but I’m not stooping that low just yet.

Right now, we’re staying in this youth foreign study building or something like that. They provide showers, washers and dryers, internet, and classrooms. For the next 4 weeks, we’ll be taking most of our classes here although we will be commuting to Fukuoka University from time to time for classes and guest lecturers as well.

The more Japanese people that I talk to, the more I realize how little Japanese I really know. I’m just hoping that after the study abroad part, I’ll know enough to get by.

It’s 10:45 pm right now, and I’ve been awake for about 24 hours now. I’ll log on again tomorrow, and put up the pictures for the past posts. I hope everyone else is doing well with what they’re doing.

John


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb