More festivals, more mountains


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Ehime » Matsuyama
October 15th 2006
Published: October 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Shrine hurlingShrine hurlingShrine hurling

It took quite a few men to push the shrines to the top, and just as many to throw it back down. Over and over again.
This past weekend was filled with yet more fall festivals and craziness with the shrines, and another mountain bike ride. Hojo shi hosted its own fall festival, which lasted Thursday through Sunday. One of the portable shrine base camps just happened to be located directly under my porch. I heard all of the gongs, drums, and sake parties at all hours of day and night for the past 3 days. Some of which I of course participated in. Each neighborhood area has its own portable shrine which they store in a temporary structure, and host somewhat of a block party (with a little religious connotation). Thursday night I strolled Hojo's streets with some of my junior high students, following the men pushing the portable shrines and marching to the beat of the little kids' plastic whistles (which never stopped).
Friday night a fellow Hojo Minami sensei (teacher) and mother of one of my students took me out to watch the festival. Friday night took place down by the harbor at Kashima shrine. All of the portable shrines made their way to the harbor and danced circles within the Kashima shrine, then hooked up 3-deep in the streets and marched back and
mountain climbingmountain climbingmountain climbing

Another one of Shikoku's hidden treasures. On the road up Mount Takanawa.
forth. I considered it a parade that just couldn't move on. They would get so far, then switch directions and come back, banging the drums and gongs the entire time. Great fun.
Saturday morning was an early one (3am), so I opted out. The culture shock might finally be getting to me. In the afternoon the shrines gathered once again, this time inland at a larger shrine with 3 flights of marble stairs. Smaller shrines were carried up on the shoulders of men, danced in circles, and then thrown down the stairs until demolished. Apparently this is to show the people's strength in front of the coming winter. There was also plenty of fighting, as I now expect in these fall festivals and drunken shows of strength. I got to hang out with my junior high students and taste some local cuisine. Doughnut-hole-type morsels filled with veggies and fresh octopus. MMMMmmm.
Sunday morning there were yet more shrines toting through the streets. But I had had enough so I took off on Big Red in search of a road to take me to the top of the mountains behind my house. I think this time I finally found the golden
helmet hairhelmet hairhelmet hair

A view of my little ocean town from the heights (but no, not the top) of Mount Takanawa. Yes, I am a little bit sweaty.
route. The only problem is once I got about 2 and a half hours into the ride I realized I was still not reaching the summit, and turned back to ride the breaks all the way home. But the views were georgeous and now I know how to get there. Just have to keep training.
This week will be another speedy one, filled with 3 different schools and bball practice with Hojo Minami's junior high school girls team. Lightning, here we come.

Advertisement



18th October 2006

shrines and octopus
hey mar - sounds like yet another wonderful excursion. these fall festivals that you describe sound like such fun, why don't we celebrate more like that here in the states? if some group of americans started demonishing shrines and statues they would most likely be arrested on the spot. haha, that's culture differences for you. but so glad to hear that you are getting your hands into all kinds of experiences over there - that's my girl! love you, miss you like always, aubs

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb