Gomennasai!!!!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Aichi » Nisshin
May 30th 2006
Published: June 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yosh!

I'm really sorry I didn't write since a long time, I was waiting for some pictures other people took at a specific night... I don't have them yet but I don't plenty of other pictures so it's allright!

Here there's a kind of routine that slowly installed itself. Less general partys like at the beginning of the semester. But still it's very busy and fun, I'm in Japan after all. Hey, I don't receive enough of your news, I begin to feel weird to tell you about my everyday life, showing you pictures and everything, but on the other side I don't know what's happening with you and I didn't see your face since almost four months!!! So send me some adventures... or pictures, something!!!!

Friday of last week was the Ikebana day, Japanese flower arrangement in English. It was reaaaaaally interesting and fun, we were really proud of what we did. And it was not only; here, take some flowers and make something beautiful, we had an actual lecture on the different kinds of flower arrangements. After we unfortunately couldn't keep them but they were exposed for a week in the JLI (Japanese Language Institute office) until there wasn't any flower left on them.

My project of a play has definitly began to be more serious... we are still writing, it's not finished yet and it's annoying me a bit but it's so interesting to see the evolution of it that I don't mind if we are late a bit. Many changes have occured and we feel pretty happy about them. From the general idea I had of a strange world at the beginning, a good story begins to take form, with the ideas of everybody (we're 5 writing it). I know I wouldn't have been able to write this all by myself... too much general ideas no specific ways to put them in words. And anyway I realized that my English if far from being really good... for normal conversation I'm totally allright, but when time comes to put in nice words something complicated to express... ouf, you just lost me! So I'm really happy people were actually interested in it and they begin to take more the place I wanted them to take.

Sunday of last week, you'll find that weird but I went to the church. Yep... for the first time in 10 years, I felt like going to church. And it's not because I wanted to hear about god's will and wisdom talk. I don't know... it's just the place itself... it's ambiance, that calls to the calm and reflexion. I felt like I needed to think a bit about at what point I was in my life. Felt like I needed that after these four crazy and non-stop months in Japan. And at the same time I wanted to see what a Japanese Christian church looks like. We went to a tiny church by the school. Yeah... it was a tiny, new building that didn't make me feel anything. I sayed and listened... They gave us a paper in English (the priest was talking only Japanese, he was a westener though) to follow what was said... I just couldn't stop my critical mind of doing her job... the text is really interesting in this way. I'm sorry for people that I could hurt but anyway it's just a opinion isn't it but it's crazy how much you feel like the things are said in a 'weird' way to make you feel obligated to listen to them blindly. But I'm not saying at all that there's no good thing in all that, it's more the opposite. Every religion was first based on really good things I think.

After the church I went to Osu Kanon with Ho san. It's a outside shopping district with a glass roof. So even when it rains (and oh god knows it rains in this country!) you can shop at peace. I noticed something really interesting. Here in Japan, everybody is generally dressed in the same style. I won't describe it it's a bit weird and complex hihi. But the thing is: there are thousand of different kind of clothes stores to please all tastes! And if you're in Montreal, you'll notice that there are a lot of different genres. But if you walk downtown, well you'll genereally see only the same kind of clothes everywhere in the display windows... strange world isn't it! All that to say that I was happy like a frog at Osu Kanon because there were this ton of Hippie style shops... yeah everybody I confess it, there's a part of hippie in me. I said a part. So I bought a lot of little things and I was
On the beachOn the beachOn the beach

The sea in Japan is full of vertical aligned rocks (sorry don't know the name in English)I guess it's caused by the earthquakes.
really happy. Montreal sucks for the clothes store, I never find what I want and that's why I don't like shopping there. I thought it was because I was one of the few that didn't like shopping... well I discover here that I enjoy it more than I thought.

Yesterday was one of my top ten days (maybe there's more than ten now hihi) in Japan. I went with Hung san in Miye Ken, the neiborghing prefecture I think. We wanted to see the sea and have a nice time. We went in this forest that had a lot of really old temples, but they were all closed to the public, I guess because they were too old. And there were these really nice huuuuuuge trees that felt like 10 thousand years old to me. It was just nice to walk in a calm and refreshing place. It was smelling nice the nature and I felt homesick, though there's no such things in Montreal so I was feeling homesick of my fews visits a year outside of Montreal. We had lunch by a nice little river, walked in a shopping district that had old buildings only, it was really
On the beachOn the beachOn the beach

I know I know... I wanted to look strong like always while climbing it but I knew I could have hurt myself sooo bad. oh well... ;)
nice. The best part of our day was next; a ferry trip on the sea... wow... 30 minutes on a small ship to go to an fishing folks island. Hung absolutely wanted to go to the beach and people were saying there was one. Well we found it after a while, a tiny beach still in construction with absolutely nobody around. It was really nice and fun. We headed back, again by ferry (I have to do this more often!!!) , ate some sushis and took the train back home, a nice relaxation ballad of 1h45. It was a great day, It deserves that I talk more about it but oh geez I'm taking too much of your time today!

This week I called to reserve my flight seat. No need to say that I wasn't feeling very good looking at my flight ticket and thinking about the last day here. It was fortunately only for a while until Keisuke booked it for me without any problem. So!!! taratamtam! I'm leaving the Japanese floor on Sunday the 23rd of July at 18h25 and I'll be in Montreal at 20h34, on Sunday!
That's it for it.

I just arrived
On our boatOn our boatOn our boat

When we came back, there was nobody on the deck except for us. really felt like it was all ours, with our own driver. If you have enough imagination, you could see there a kind of dragon advancing in the water... or maybe I'm crazy ;(
here and I just begin to get confortably installed... and there's only 1 month and a half left!!! Here it's interesting how people are on two different sides: there are those who just can't be here anymore and can't wait for the end to come and there are those who just don't want to leave!! Most people that want to leave are those that are here since a year, so in a way I'm happy to leave in July, I won't have time to get bored or too much homesick. But on the opposite I made good friends and it's kind of sad to think that I won't see them again maybe. But I miss Montreal too, if I had to go today I wouldn't say that I'm not ready and that I haven't experienced enough things here. I could go back with my mind clear and free!

À plus

Mel

P.S. Maybe you didn't get enough yet. So absolutely not to copy you Seb, I'll have also my song of the week.

A song from Dido... called Sand in my shoes. I know that right now I'm not in that situation yet and that I'm not at the beach but in Japan. But I already feel this is gonna be my favorite song when I'll come back home.

Sand in my shoes

two weeks away feels like the whole world should have changed
but i'm home now, and things still look the same
i think i'll leave it till tomorrow to unpack, try to forget for one more night
that i'm back in my flat
on the road where the cars never stop going through the night
to a life where i can't watch the sun set, i don't have time, i don't have time

i've still got sand in my shoes and i can't shake the thought of you
i should get on, forget you but why would i want to
i know we said goodbye, anything else would have been confused
but i want to see you again

tomorrow's back to work and down to sanity
should run a bath and then clear up the mess i made before i left here
try to remind myself that i was happy before i knew that i could get
on a plane and fly away
from the road where the cars never stop going through the night
to a life where i can watch the sun set and take my time, take all our time

two weeks away, all it takes, to change and turn me around i've fallen
i walked away, and never said, that i wanted to see you again

i've still got sand in my shoes and i can't shake the thought of you
i should get on, forget you but why would i want to
i know we said goodbye, anything else would have been confused
but i want to see you again





Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Amuseur public de Osu KannonAmuseur public de Osu Kannon
Amuseur public de Osu Kannon

He was really crazy and good... I think this last trick, playing with fired stick on a unicycle, was not quite ready... abunayo...
Ho san and me, Osu KannonHo san and me, Osu Kannon
Ho san and me, Osu Kannon

Watch carefully what's in my hand!!! Yeah, I finally found bubble tea that tastes like in Montreal, I was happy happy
Onigiri paradiseOnigiri paradise
Onigiri paradise

Onigiris saved my butt during my first days in Japan. Theyre good, cheap, vegetarian and in every combini. So if you come in Japan, look for these little things!!!
Cultural picture!Cultural picture!
Cultural picture!

One of my favorite cultural phenomenon in Japan; rows of men reading mangas in combinis


30th May 2006

allo allo!! enfin des nouvelles!! sa faisait un petit bout de temps! Je m'appretais même a aller au japon pour voir quese qu'il se passait avec toi!! je suis bien contente que tout aille bien pour toi! c'est fou comme le temps passe vite... ca adonne bien parce que tu pars le 23 du japon et moi je pars le 23 de cuba!! on est bien timmer!! redonne nous des nouvelles! je t'embrasse xxx
30th May 2006

:P
so, you went shopping at the japanese version of Plaza St-Hubert? :P the picture of all the men reading mangas in the combini is really nice... here, it's not a cultural phenomenon, store owners just hang a sign that says "no reading allowed"! enjoy the rest of your stay! it's going so fast!
31st May 2006

Copieuse
Copieuse. Tu fais comme moi Mel, tu cache beaucoup d'informations au Quebecois je trouve! (part la machine a potins). En passant faut parler de notre escale a Tokyo en juin..

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb