Hello! I have a blog!


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia
July 10th 2005
Published: July 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone! I have decided to start a blog so I can save a lot of time attaching photos and writing emails! Selfish eh? Much better for all you Aussies to log on and check out what I've been doing and I will try and update as regularly as I can. Arli and I just went to Bali but the bad news is I forgot my digital camera so no photos 😞 I do have photos of previous exploits so I will attach some here to get this thing started. Hope you are all well!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Inside my mansionInside my mansion
Inside my mansion

Just a photo to give you an idea of what my house is like. Quite nice with servant quarters upstairs - shame that I don't really have a servant but I'm trying to convince Arli that if I pay her $3 a day it's a good wage in this country.
My streetMy street
My street

Here is a lovely one of me walking outside the house in the first week I was here.
They call me JaneThey call me Jane
They call me Jane

This is me at the Surabaya Zoo wrestling with The King of the Jungle. Grrrr.
The Running of the BullsThe Running of the Bulls
The Running of the Bulls

My first trip outside Sura was to Madura - an island above Java. They race bulls. Here is a photo. This dude was a midget with one eye but always seemed to win. His strategy was to pull the bull's tails!
Uji and the coconutUji and the coconut
Uji and the coconut

50 cents Aussie for a huge coconut!! Uji split it apart and we drank the milk. YUM!!!!!
MalangMalang
Malang

Another weekend trip. Malang. 2 hours driving up a mountain and the temperature is low. We swam in the hotel pool but turned blue.
Situbondo - at Muslim schoolSitubondo - at Muslim school
Situbondo - at Muslim school

A trip to Situbondo ended up in me teaching an impromptu English class at the local Muslim school. It was very funny and they were all very nice boys.
SingaporeSingapore
Singapore

Quick trip to Singapore to renew my visa. Just shopping in Chinatown and stuff. Indonesian Rupiah doesn't really amount to much when converted to SG$.
Fauzi - my driverFauzi - my driver
Fauzi - my driver

This is the guy I spend most of my day with as we drive from one end of Surabaya to the other so I can teach. He is very funny. He only knows about 10 English words but we manage as I learn more Indonesian.
Teachers' workshopTeachers' workshop
Teachers' workshop

I have been running a workshop to improve the local teachers' English. So now you can check out all my colleagues! My boss is the one on the far left in this photo.
Dinner by the riverDinner by the river
Dinner by the river

This is the most recent photo of me as it was taken last night at a restaurant on the Surabaya River.
Failed Safari attemptFailed Safari attempt
Failed Safari attempt

So. We tried to go to a Safari park about an hour from here. Negotiated a deal with a taxi driver to drive us there and through the park and then home again. Got halfway and the radiator went spaz, he put water in and we continued. Then going up a steep hill about 200m from the entrance the radiator just sorta exploded. We sat on the side of the road for about 2 hours getting stared at by all the locals and while the driver went and bought a radiator hose and then we drove home. Very funny!!!!!
200m from the safari entrance200m from the safari entrance
200m from the safari entrance

BTW, I should mention that by the time the driver came back with the radiator hose it was too late to go through the park.
Call me Gwyneth...Call me Gwyneth...
Call me Gwyneth...

Sorry to those who are offended by my nudity but I have to show you that I'm so cool because I now get 'cupping' done. My back is killing me so I've started acupuncture and cupping. It's so good and costs about $4 AUD for an hour of pain relief work. Yea!!
TretesTretes
Tretes

We spent a weekend in Tretes. About an hour from here and very cool and in the mountains. Here is Arli in our 'villa' and some of the view. We could walk out onto our verandah and see a huge waterfall. Very nice.
View of villa from waterfallView of villa from waterfall
View of villa from waterfall

So we walked down to the waterfall. Many steep hills, nearly died. Got down there and this is a photo of our villa from the waterfall (on the left - kinda brown colour). We then walked back which took about an hour and a half in the pouring rain. I think I haven't done that much exercise in the last 5 years.
Me and the viewMe and the view
Me and the view

Not much to say. Here I am and behind me is a view of Surabaya from Tretes.
The WaterfallThe Waterfall
The Waterfall

Not a very good photo but it was dark by the time we got there...
Arli and Iput dyingArli and Iput dying
Arli and Iput dying

This is a ridiculously steep hill that Arli and Iput lay down on because they couldn't walk up anymore. Then Iput decided crawling up was his only option.
The final Tretes view photoThe final Tretes view photo
The final Tretes view photo

This is also the view from our villa. Very, very nice. Oh the ambience.


10th July 2005

Great Blog
Loved reading your first entry. It is great to finally see that you are doing stuff over there. Can you bring home that tiger thing please?
11th July 2005

Can you send me that big cat
Wow you where able to hold that lioness cub. Where u scared
12th July 2005

Hey Love
So good to finally see you!, it's seams like a life time ago when I saw you last! You're looking good, love!! Much, much love Sarah xxxxx
10th August 2005

go indo
nice one cloz! i'm telling you, blogs are the go!..just got back so mine'll be dormant for awhile, but i'll be checking this one out for an update awright. take care

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb