Fly like a rich:-)


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » West Papua
May 11th 2017
Published: May 11th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I never thought, that I could fly in my life by a small plane. All my life I thouht that the small jets are only for people with money. But, the day when I had this opportunity came. And I really can say, that it worth the money to try. We had booked the small Jet for the trip in West Papua to the tribe living in a small village in the deep jungles. This tribe became famous after a Book of Sabina Kugler "Jungle Kind" and after the book the Movie with the same name came to the World. The tribe where we went - Fayu tribe. They live in Memberamo Velley on the Deru River. Deru has a simple translation - River. So, they live in the river with the name River. About village you can read in my previous entry.
So, telling the long story short, we came to Sentani Airport in Jayapura early in the morning.

As all the flights, big or small, should go due to the scadule. I was very scared to flight, as I never used such a small jet. My knees schivered and my heart went on a wild dancing. Oh!! I began to pray, as my imagination drew me a picture about airplane crasching in the jungles. I cannot describe all the horror that was in my mind. Better if you can come with us for the next trip there and feel all that yourself. ;-)

Before boarding, they began to weght us and our luggage. As if there is an owerweight, the Jet cannot take on.
We were a group of 7 people and 2 of us were too heavy . So, we left one papua girl, who accompanied us in Jayapura. There were no choise.
At least, we boarded. I was sitting near the window, so I could see all the wonderful views from above.

My fare went, when I saw our pilot- he was Britisch and told me, that he was flying here 20 years. Oh! My God!!! Wonderful news it was!!! And I tried to calm down.
So! We took off. When we riched 2 km high, it became colder. About 12 degree over zero. But in comparing with the temperatute below it was really cold. As in Jayapura it was 30 degree Celsius. Some of us wanted to the toilet, but how to find a toilet in the Jet with 8 seats and the size like a dragonfly? Of course, there were no toilet. And before landing we had to be in this flying jale about 2 hours. Finally, we heard a voise of our friend: "People, please, I cannot stand it anymore, give me a plastik bag!! Pleaseeeeee!!" . What to do? All the women in the Jet turned away and he made his bsiness to the plastick bag, sitting between 2 woman :-) It was really funny for us, but not for a poor creation.


The landing strip was seen from the Jat soon. It was a small area with moved grass. And we finally landed.

As I mentioned above, you can read about the village here in my previous Entry.
And if you are about to feel all emotions to fly over the jungles on a small Cessna and see the Fayu tribe in the reallity, hunt with the real bowl and arrow in deep jungles, just write me here:https://www.facebook.com/Stoneage-hunting-131978867338194/

As we are going to the next trip there in January or February 2018.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.928s; Tpl: 0.087s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb