Heaven and Hell


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Sumatra » Berastagi
October 16th 2005
Published: October 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

The Crater The Crater The Crater

At the top of Sibayak
The Lonely Planet describes Berastagi as a "Grotty Town". I loved it. As soon as I arrived I could feel that this was a place which was actually lived in, wandering round the market, seeing the people, I was in heaven.
The next day I went for a trek up Gunung Sibayak, and active volcano 2094 meters. One of the highlights was riding on the roof of the bus to the base of the mountain. At the top there were vents spewing sulphurous air into the air, I felt like Dante as I wandered around the vents, holding my breath to get a closer look, and getting a sulphuric burning in my throat when the wind changed!
That night I hang out with my guide and his friends as they played guitar and unmercifully thrashed all the retro songs.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Head in the CloudsHead in the Clouds
Head in the Clouds

At the top of Sibayak
No Safety Barriers!!!No Safety Barriers!!!
No Safety Barriers!!!

No, it wasn't the curry from the previous night.
JammingJamming
Jamming

Anto and his mates
Horses and BunnysHorses and Bunnys
Horses and Bunnys

I thought about buying a bunny, but I thought it might object to being crammed at the bottom of my pack!


Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb