Lost on an Island on a Lake


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Sumatra » Lake Toba
October 12th 2005
Published: October 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Lake Toba is the old crater of a volcano, which a large island in it, where I stayed. Although I had heard that it was meant to be beautiful, and a perfect place to relax, I thought it was arse.
The place is entirely set up for tourists, to the point of which it has no culture of it's own.
To make matters worse there were virtually no other tourists around, so I had no company, and the locals were extra vigilant with there harassing: "Motorbike, Massage, Mushrooms...." I wondered what combining them all would have been like....
The scenery was pretty amazing, but it was awfully similar to New Zealand, and personally I think we do it better.
One day I went for a trek with a crazy Finish guy. The plan was to get to this waterfall we could see. Unfortunately for us, despite our best assumptions, there was no track. For once I was the one suggesting that perhaps we best not go a do the crazy thing. But we did, and managed to get ourselves out of the jungle just as it began to rain, and was beginning to get dark.
One day I went off one a walk by myself. The map I had was rather useless, but I managed to find my way along the top of the Island, and fortunately I found a track down too (just), and 7 hours later I got home!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

TombTomb
Tomb

Lake Toba is a Christian area. The mixture between Christianity and the ethnic Batak results in stylised Tombs which pepper the landscape. And provide a nice place for people to dry their clothes on!


Tot: 0.205s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0833s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb