Selamat Natal


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Sumatra » Banda Aceh
December 25th 2005
Published: January 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

OK, so it’s been a while since I made a Blog entry, what can I say I’ve been busy, it is the silly season after all. So I may as well get straight to the point:
Christmas Day.
Now I’d presumed that being overseas in foreign lands, Christmas would be a rather subdued affair. I was wrong.
I thought that I was on top of things in October when I brought my family Christmas presents in Malaysia and posted them home. I had no idea how busy I was going to be!
Little did I know that Christmas would turn into a full scale Logistical Operation!
Nick planned a full Christmas dinner for the Expats at IRC and a few hangers on. I offered to help, and between running around buying vegetables, wine glasses and everything else which was needed, and doing some last minute Christmas shopping for people here, I really go into that frantic festive spirit. The only things missing were the malls and the carols, and not really missed at that.
In the end it was all a success, I managed to do the rushing around in the kitchen to keep Nick from getting too stressed and I still had a nice time with Jo.
The lunch was huge: turkey, ham (he he he), potatoes, sweet potatoes, cauliflower cheese, pumpkin pie, Christmas pudding and heaps of other stuff. By the end of it we could barely move.
Although it was sad to be away from friends and family, it was a fine Christmas day never-the-less.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

The Cooks!The Cooks!
The Cooks!

Gail, Nick and Me
Slaving awaySlaving away
Slaving away

At a hot stove
"My Pie!""My Pie!"
"My Pie!"

The shock at finding Erica had turned off the oven with my pie!
MMmm PieMMmm Pie
MMmm Pie

Fortunately the pie was ok
After LunchAfter Lunch
After Lunch

Nick, Swelana and Me


Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0743s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb