Exiled - Pulau Bunaken, Indonesia


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Sulawesi » Bunaken National Park
December 30th 2016
Published: December 20th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Wow. This Christmas will go down in the memory banks as one of the most surreal holidays in my life. I had made it to Pulau Bunaken with expectations and visions of warm weather, clear waters, marine life to spare, and massive coral reef walls - of which I would dive during my stay at the far northern tip of Sulawesi to close out my two months in Indonesia. Normally I try not to have expectations of any place as expectations tend to always lead to disappointment due to the fact that nothing is ever as it is in your mind. Here on Bunaken everything and more I expected came to be after I stumbled into a sweet little dive resort ran by a friendly Italian by the name of Roberto. Raja Laut was to be my home away from home for Christmas, and home was just how I was made to feel.

As is the usual par for my course I showed up on this island with no place to stay. The first two places I checked were fully booked and the third place was all business and to expensive. I started to worry I was going to be living on the beach under a tree. As is always the case, something works out. I found Raja Laut and immediately felt comfortable talking with Roberto and I knew right away I had found my spot. It was a little more than I wanted to spend - $IDR300,000 per night including meals. At the end of the day this is like $30USD. Sometimes you have to treat yourself and especially so for Christmas. I also signed up for six dives at $35USD a piece.

The schedule at the resort was great. Up at 7am for breakfast and on the boat by 8am. We would do a morning dive, have tea and snacks on the boat and do a second dive around 11am or so. After the second dive back home for lunch. Maybe an afternoon nap or stroll in the village and it was time for dinner. A few drinks and off to bed to repeat again. At the resort their was Roberto, a German couple, an Italian guy and his Mom, and myself. A strange mix of people but everyone was super friendly and we all had a great time together. The diving here in Bunaken was stunning. Massive coral reef walls descending 40+ meters support an array of fish, turtles, sharks, and all manner colored soft and hard coral. The currents could be quite strong and when they hit I could just float and watch the view go by in front of my mask.

Of course scuba diving on Christmas was a pretty special day for me. If someone had told me a year ago that on Christmas 2012 I would be diving amongst tropical fish I would have laughed at the thought. But here I was with my Santa hat on ready to take the plunge laughing all the way down.

For Christmas dinner Roberto had arranged for a pig to be delivered and slow cooked over a bed of coconut shell husks. He also invited his staff to join us for the meal. Music, food, and laughs were had all around. It is no substitute for being amongst friends and family back home, but Roberto and the staff at Raja Laut did a fantastic job of making all of the guests feel at home with this special meal. Truly a fun time and a good experience to have a Christmas like this one. I rather enjoyed my little exile here on Pulau Bunaken, although in 2013 I think I will stay Denver, we'll see. For now I had to come up with an exit plan for Indonesia so I bought the cheapest flight I could book out of Manado. Looks like New Year's Eve will be celebrated in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Seemed as good of a destination as any. Geographically now I will have to think about how to tackle mainland SE Asia.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

pigroastpigroast
pigroast

Most unique Christmas dinner ever.
villagewalkvillagewalk
villagewalk

On Christmas walking through the village on Pulau Bunaken, I was invited into every home and offered food, drink, and smiles all around. I'll never forget the friendliness in the hearts of the people in Indonesia.
arakarak
arak

This little old Indonesian man was so happy and proud to have me in his home to share the Arak that he had made. I was happy to be in his company and accept his gracious offer. The Arak tasted like Christmastime.


Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 14; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb