WOW Wow WOW


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Lombok » Gilli Trawangan
January 26th 2007
Published: February 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post


One hell of a ride. I don't know how I will top this last adventure. I am now bouncing around the Gilli Islands, which are unreal. Yesterday morning we did a morning dive at Sunset point and saw a 2 meter white tip reef shark just chilling at his reef. We watched as this amazing creature in his element glided through the ocean and circled his reef from about 10 feet away. The shark was curious and came by for a close look at us and then had what seemed like a nap on the ocean floor. We also saw some sea turtles down there. Then That same evening we dropped in for our first night dive, It was a full moon and the visibility down there was awsome. We saw sea snakes, Lionfish, Scorpionfish, and frog fish, but the highlight of the dive was the flousfleuresent Plankton.

These three small islands located off of Lombok Indonesia are incredible, the largest one is about 6 kms around. Motor vehicles are banned here and everyday is like being a kid again. No stress whatsoever here, it is truly paridise. I have been doing a lot of snorkeling, and the other
Angel fishAngel fishAngel fish

well I have definetely pushed the limits of my underwater camera taking it two around 3 meters depth
day insearch of Sea turtles we ran into this solid wall of Jellyfish. They didn't sting, but man was it something to see, they were just hitting you and you couldn t avoid them.

We went fishing with one of the locals here but didn't catch anything, We were going to try and use one of their spear-guns, but in order to fish with them you have to be able to free dive around 15 meters deep, I kid you not I watched one of the locals go down that deep and disapear into the deep blue with now air supply, I figure he must have been down there for around 2 minutes.

Anyhow time my time is running out here, I have 9 more days on my Visa and I still have to find a plane ticket out of Indonesia and into Malyasia.

Take Care,

Cor


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Clown fishClown fish
Clown fish

These are the bravest little fish, they protect there homes so well. If you dive down for a close look they come out right to your goggles and challenge you.
no problemno problem
no problem

without a flipflop repair shop insight, I was forced to do some sewing.
Hammock MalfunctionHammock Malfunction
Hammock Malfunction

I told him to stop swinging 1 minute before


15th February 2007

Memories to be sure
Corey and Jordan You guys certainly bring back memories for Gail and Mike. Yes, the boat trip to and from the Gili Islands is something else. I figured we could all swim to land if the boat went under. We celebrated our survival with the boys having Fanta and me several beers! Continue to seize the day.

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb