Pancakes, a "traditional" American food


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Kalimantan » Bontang
September 16th 2008
Published: September 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello again,

Pancakes are a hit in Bontang. A couple of weeks ago, some teachers came to my house and cooked for me. I wanted to contribute, so I offered to make them pancakes, the only simple “American” food I could think to make without an oven. The teachers loved them, and word spread about a delicious “traditional” American food. Last Friday, the teachers came over to my house again and I taught them how to make pancakes. We made six batches (probably about 50 pancakes) and then brought them to an event at the school. To a gorgeous spread of bakso (Indonesian meatballs), noodles, fruits, sweets, and coconut drinks, I added a Tupperware container full of pancakes…classy, right?!

While I have trouble believing the cold pancakes were truly delicious, they were a big hit. One of the teachers suggested I open a food stand - “Ms. Kerry’s Pancakes.” We joked I have a back-up plan if medical school doesn’t work out.

The pancakes’ popularity is demonstrative of everyone’s desire to learn more about American culture. Indonesians love their food, and, as such, food has turned out to be a wonderful way to begin cultural exchanges. My first week at the school, over a plate of Indonesian fruit salad, I had a long conversation with teachers about American cuisine. They shared fermented cassava and rice, traditional Javanese foods, with me, and I told them about cole slaw and pickled herring. The next day when there was a party with bakso, I talked about spaghetti and meatballs.

Ground beef is no where to be found, so I think my next cooking extravaganza may be mashed potatoes. It’s going to be hard to beat the pancakes popularity, but I’ll let you know how they go over.

Kerry


Advertisement



Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1001s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb