Life in the jungle


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Kalimantan » Bontang
September 12th 2008
Published: September 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from Borneo,

My return to the jungle has reminded that I am, well, really in the jungle. When I opened my door upon returning from my trip, lizards scurried up the walls and a salamander-like creature half-slithered, half-crawled across the floor. The lizards don’t bother me, but I was less-than-pleased with my new salamander friend. As such, I took a plastic container and tried to trap it. In doing so, I accidentally cut off half of its tail. The tail piece took on a life of its own - it jumped and wriggled across the floor. I left the tail to itself, figuring it would “die.” However, several minutes later, the energizer-bunny of a tail showed no signs of slowing, so I “killed” it…I never thought I would have to kill a tail 😊

The next morning when I left for school, I walked past a small snake on the stairs in front of my house. I didn’t think much of it - it didn’t occur to me to be afraid of a five-inch-long snake. Later that day, one of the teachers was talking about snakes (specifically, the snakes she had seen at a restaurant five minutes from my house) and I mentioned the little one I’d found. She immediately asked if it was black, and then informed me it was a baby cobra. Apparently, if (or, more like when) I see snakes, they are likely cobras; I am just crossing my fingers I never find one in my house. Oh, and when I asked my counterpart about snakes, he told me the grass behind my house is mowed so I can see them...as if that is supposed to make me feel better 😊

Despite my increased awareness of the myriad of creatures I should be afraid of, I am settling into life in the jungle. Being afraid takes a lot of energy, energy I would rather expend elsewhere. That is, I think I am starting to find the “zen” of life in Borneo - the creatures are going to be there - it is more their home then mine - so I might as well learn to live with them. Lest I over state my progress, however, I am just beginning to learn; I still jump every time I see, or think I see, anything move. Such is life in jungle.

Until next time,

Kerry


Advertisement



12th September 2008

Oh, my word and you really want us to visit you (smile). Love, Mom

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb