Putting The Kids To Work


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Yogyakarta
April 27th 2016
Published: April 28th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Cas took Ed and Hat on a crafts morning in Jogja. A two hour visit to a traditional batik factory where they all go to make their own design and gave them printed. The kids loved the factory and Cas kept her beady eye on them as there were vats of hot wax etc.
After this they went to a silversmiths workshop to make rings. They were given strips of silver to hammer, twist, stamp and they were delighted to get their hands on a blowtorch to do some soldering.
They turned up at the villa st 2.00pm, bearing a slice of delicious Dutch apple pie. I had the full run down of how everything was made and they were very enthusiastic about both visits.
Cas had made me a lovely silver ring, as I'd left my wedding ring at home. It was stamped with C&K.
I took up the owners idea of going for a masage to help my legs recover. I took a leaf from Cas' Sundanese massage (mauling) in Batu Karas and asked for it to be more gentle pressure. It turned out to be the best massage I've every had.
When I got back, the power was out and there was a brilliant lighting storm. So, we all had dinner by candlelight.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.413s; Tpl: 0.042s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.2468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb