Olympic Fever


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Jakarta
February 23rd 2014
Published: February 23rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

I love celebrating holidays. There’s nothing better than getting together with good company, eating tasty food and laughing. Valentine’s Day is no exception. A bunch of us got together Saturday February 15 for breakfast. Someone made heart shaped pancakes and the rest of us each brought a topping to share. The spread was delicious and covered a variety of choices.



Every Sunday afternoon community members come together to play a game of ultimate Frisbee. All ages are welcome and it’s always a good time had by all. By the time 4 o’clock arrives, I’m usually too exhausted to get myself out the door or I’ve started something and am in the middle of it. Last week was different. I made time and even got a ride there on the back of a friend’s bike. We played on the school’s large soccer field and had a blast. It was nice to connect with others outside of the work context. I’m going to try and go regularly.



This semester I am coaching volleyball again but for grades 7-10. This group of students are a pleasure to work with and are diligent at improving their game. We just ended a week long tournament and on Friday won first place! We played best out of five sets in the final game. The first two sets were a challenge as we lost them both by only a few points, but the girls fought hard and came back to win the third, fourth and fifth set. It was awesome!



On Friday night I invited everyone and anyone who wanted to come over and watch the women’s hockey gold medal match. It was a recording as the game went live the previous night starting at midnight here in Jakarta. Watching the game with fans from the opposing team added a new dynamic. There was definitely some heckling going on, but the end turned out to be perfect. Go CANADA!!!! I’ve tried finding Olympic footage on my cable TV but it seems as if no one’s covering it here. I have come across a TV app though which has enabled me to view events not only live but recorded ones as well, plus highlights. It serves its purpose and I’m grateful that it shows as much as it does, otherwise I would be extremely disappointed not being able to view any Olympics. It doesn’t matter if it’s the winter or summer games….I love it all! Sochi is only three hours behind us so after viewing the women’s gold medal, a few of us stuck it for the next game at midnight where the Canadian Men Hockey Team took on the Americans in the semi finals. Since it was a Friday night it worked out well so that we could sleep in on Saturday. Today I hosted again for whoever wanted to cheer on the men in their gold medal match against Sweden.



Yesterday afternoon I was messaging my cousins back and forth on Facebook. They live out of town and were headed to my parents place for the weekend. The messages developed into an impromptu Skype session with the whole family! It was awesome and a great way to catch up with everyone. They were going to play a game and I joined in. We turned it into an international game where the laptop screen was tilted just right so I could view the whole board and see my cards from my end. Others of course had to physically move things for me but in the end I won! It was a great way to spend the early hours of a Saturday afternoon after a leisurely morning.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb