Merry Christmas


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Jakarta
December 25th 2013
Published: December 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hi all



Not really much of an update just a quick one to wish you all a Happy Christmas and New year.

I'm in Jakarta for Xmas but will be moving on before new year. Arrived yesterday and took a taxi to the place I was staying about 20 miles away..it took 2 hours!! Jakarta has some of the worst traffic I've seen anywhere in the world. The guy on reception seemed to think making it from the airport in two hours was good going as the roads were not as busy as usual due to the holidays coming up.

Staying at a small but nice hotel in North Jakarta that has a useful list of information in my room including these instructions "if you are in bed when an earthquake occurs, simply roll of the bed. A safe void will exist around the bed". It goes on to say that I shouldn't hide under a desk or doorway or use the lift. So much comforted by the lying next to the bed safety advice I spent a fitful night waiting for the building to collapse around my ears.

As I write this you'll be glad to hear that is absolutely lashing it down with rain outside. If it decides to stop soon will take a walk off to the local market.

So all for now here's hoping you all have a great Christmas and new year.

Advertisement



25th December 2013

from John
Hello Paul. Stuffed full of Christmas fare here - and have drunk way too much wine and Champers. Feeling the worse for it. Tomorrow, gotta go through the same assault on my innards all over again. Crap! Anyway, happy Christmas! - John

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb