I guess I should start looking over my shoulder


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Jakarta
July 17th 2009
Published: July 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The one thing that I think I was most surprised with when I arrived in Jakarta was the fact that I felt so safe. This is a massive city, full of some of the wealthiest and poorest individuals in Southeast Asia, but with a glut of surplus labour and having faced security issues in the past, it seemed to me that Jakarta has the situation under control. At the entrace to everybuilding there are guards who will put you through metal detection. Police are around all the major intersections, and there are numerous police posts throughout the city. I've never once felt intimidated or concerned about my safety in the capital - with so much security (and it has to be said, so many witnesses), major crime seems to be relatively well maintained.

Events this morning may change my outlook. Apparently two explosions went off at the Ritz Carleton and the Marriot here in the city. Both are not extremely far from my place, and the BBC is reporting foreigner fatalities. If it turns out that these were attacks instead of accidents (and something tells me two explosions around the same time may hint towards the former), Jakarta may have lost what innocence I had attributed to it.

Needless to say, I'm alright. I do live near the Four Seasons Hotel, but as of right now, I haven't heard anything to say it has been affected. I'm expecting throughout the day that the United Nations will be coordinating communications to all of us on how to act and where to avoid. Based on what my colleagues are saying, I may have to stay away from "foreigner spots" for the rest of my time here... which works for me.

The BBC seems to be on top of the story and updating their reports regularly at http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/8155084.stm if you want to check in on how things develop.

Advertisement



17th July 2009

wow two explosions cool were you there for them were you in them???

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb