Jakarta


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Jakarta
October 2nd 2008
Published: October 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today in the morning I went to "Harbour Centre" in Singapore, took the boat (45 mins) to Pulau Batam which si Indonesia already, got the "visa on arrival". The whole process took about 3 mins, no questions asked, no docs needed, just the valid passport. Slovakia is luckily since 2007 on a list of countries that can get "visa on arrival" in Indonesia. I just had to pay $ 25 USD for "30 days visa"

There are no buses from Sekupang ( a place where the boat arrived on Batam island) to the Airport, so I had to take a taxi. There were even no tourists at all. I mean, I did not see any non-Asian types.

I would have expected that people will stare at me, but no.

Surprisingly, Indonesia is now GMT +6, and not +7 as Singapore (and the guide shows these places are in the same timezone). I did not know that. It is probably because Indonesia has a summer time, and Singapore not ? Who knows, I'm lazy to google 😊
But it is definitely better than if it was versa. I would have missed my plane.
The "AirAsia" flight was nice, on time, and the plane much nicer than let's say Ryanair, let alone the staff 😊 Check yourself at http://www.airasia.com/, not very far from the reality 😊

First impressions of Jakarta: big dirty city, I saw some slums from the bus, heaps of litter etc. Of course, some skyscrapers, newly build suburbs etc. on the other side.
I found a place to sleep on "Jaksa" street, there are many hostels here, so finally I see tourists again ! I go for a dinner, hopefully I will meet someone to chat with.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb