Asia Cup Final 2007


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Jakarta
July 31st 2007
Published: November 30th -0001
Edit Blog Post

I woke up early again this morning the call to preyer is unforgiving when it comes to sleeping, I had a quick breakfast before heading to the Tuku train station for my 7 hour ride to Jakarta. The Executive trains are quite comfortable and serve a small lunch and tea through out the trip.

I had the fortune to be seated next to a Dutch guy, I think I like the dutch the most of the Europeans I have met, they seem more out going then most. Anyway we proceeded to drink the bar dry (they only had for 4 cans LOL) and then jumped off and got more at the stops.

It was pleasant trip through some beautiful country side, Jakarta is big spralling city and as we entered the poverty was pronounced with people everywhere and a lot of rough decayed housing along the tracks.

On arriving at Gambir station we took a cab to the Jalan Jaksa area where most of the budget accomodation is situated and got a room at the Hotel Margot I also arranged for a driver to take me to the airport the next morning before going off to find an ATM.

I then headed to Jakarta's Gelora Bung Karno Stadium for the Asia Cup final between Saudia Arabia and Iraq, the stadium was totally surrounded by soldiers and tanks and other mititary vehicles which was daunting to say the least. The crowd was large and in great spirits and the game which Iraq won was fantastic, culminating in fire works.

After the game I headed back to my hotel and packed and crashed as I was leaving for Soekarno-Hatta Airport at 5am, on arrival I grabbed some Mcdonalds and then left for KL.

On arrival in KL I headed to my accomodation in the old railway station spending my final night in the city there before taking the airport train to KL international early the next morning for my flight to Singapore.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Asia CupAsia Cup
Asia Cup

My ticket


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb