The Start of a New Adventure. Adelaide to Ubud


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali
September 17th 2014
Published: October 8th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Letter from my BabyLetter from my BabyLetter from my Baby

Wishing me safe travels and a happy birthday
I’m starting to feel like a traveller I guess. This is now my Fifth adventure (World Trip, Dubai-Singapore, USA/Caribbean, New Zealand Cruise). Leading up to a dreaded 0 Birthday, I was never going to go well. I have this thing that something always bad happens, so thought best bet was to leave the country for it. I had been investigating things for a while and so many different thoughts crossed my mind. I really loved the idea of doing an Intrepid Vietnam to Bangkok as an adventure, but I ended up feeling that would be too big a culture shock to survive on my first ever Solo Trip. There was a point where flights to Paris were going for only AUD $1600 return, and I know I really want to head back there one day, but again the concept of a solo trip to Paris sounded extremely depressing. It was back in May 2014 that I saw online flights to Bali for around $320 return. Considering the cost of flights within Australia, I checked out a few things, found a trip with Intrepid called Beautiful Bali, which was a 9 night tour and it sounded like it would explore places that most tourists wouldn’t go, so I took the plunge and booked it. Now being a bad flier I felt jinxed that once again another airplane crashes. My trip in March was just after the plane went missing and now another gets shot down! Really people?

I kind of like to get a bit of a feel for places so booked to arrive on the 17th, and the actual tour will commence on the 20th. It gives me a few days to relax and look around by myself, but not too many that I get lonely.

The morning of the flight my children brought in the most gorgeous little cards for me wishing me safe travels. For the first time they wouldn’t be seeing me off at the airport as my flight leaves at 4pm, and I didn’t want them taken out of school for this. I had organised Robert to collect me around 11am as we were going to do a couple of things first. Talk about leaving packing to the last minute. I just wasn’t organised, and when I weighed my bag I was a bit shocked to discover it weighed 17kg! OMG I’m really going to have to learn how to pack better. It was only later I discovered I hadn’t even packed deodorant, but that was simple enough to collect.

Arriving at the airport, I’ve never just been dumped and left before. I was getting all excited that for the first time we could use the ramp and drop me directly outside the terminal. Now for some stupid reason that can’t be explained, upon opening a larger car park however many years ago, the ramp no longer is allowed to be used, so passengers have to all head across a large open space and proceed to all of two lifts to get up to the correct level for departures???? Why not still use the ramp? I had also thought that by arriving extra early my line up wouldn’t be so bad, but I think half of the plane had similar thoughts so there was a line up. It was at this time my dad arrived to see me off.

Just an aside of that, I think its pretty darn awesome that my dad has come to the airport every single time I’ve left the country. I guess it is his fault that I
My Well Travelled CompanionsMy Well Travelled CompanionsMy Well Travelled Companions

My camera bag and passport ... basically dont leave the country without them :)
learnt to love airports as I remember as a child loving going and collecting him at these magical places of so many potentials. We eventually got my luggage up and made it through the security gauntlet. I was a chosen one to have some random drug screening done on me …. As if I’d keep all the drugs on me … its in the bogey board people Duh!

Now I had been a bit pre-occupied leading up to this trip and it was only a day or so beforehand I remembered I needed to get money exchanged. I pre-ordered it through a website and had to collect this at the airport. It was kind of entertaining have 2 million of the Bali money in my hand. Would be my first and only time as a multi-millionaire J

We had a drink at one of my favourite Cibo’s. I guess it’s my favourite, because it means I’m at the airport which is always exciting. I was a little bit surprised that my airplane didn’t look exactly very large, I guess I thought it might be a touch larger. One of my first ever flights was from Adelaide to Perth and for some reason that plane had a middle row, this one definitely wouldn’t. I eventually said goodbye to my dad and went through the customs process.

Now I was so excited after getting through that little hassle to discover they actually had duty free shops in there. One lady apologised that the shops weren’t that big, heck I was just excited to be looking … for some reason I just get a kick out of looking around at all the things people might buy. There really wasn’t much in the shops and I did consider buying a pen, because this was an item that all good travellers should carry in their bags with the forms that are required to be filled out, but decided against spending $4 for something I would just lose.

They started then calling out our plane for boarding. It shouldn’t surprise me, but I always am curious when seat rows are called out for people to board when you actually get on when they final call your rows that multiple people believe they don’t need to wait for their numbers and just jump in whenever they want. Makes for a bit of hassle
Multi-MillionaireMulti-MillionaireMulti-Millionaire

Soaking in it while it lasts!
trying to pass people at the front of the plane to get to the middle where your seat is. I was going to be sitting next to a young couple. There were a few younger kids on board, so hopefully it isn’t a tearful trip.

Now I did say I hoped it wasn’t to be a tearful trip …. How wrong was I! It wasn’t the young children on board that decided to bawl their eyes out, but the couple beside me. Thankfully the girl was in the aisle, but shortly after take-off, I thought I heard raised voices and swearing, but dismissed it quickly, I mean it would be a bit odd wouldn’t it to be hearing that on a plane. Unfortunately I was not so mistaken and the couple beside me decided that a five hour plane trip was the perfect opportunity to fill in the time with a four hour argument. At one stage the girl slapped the guy across the face and seriously I was petrified. I kept doing my mind telepathy to the stewardess to come and save me, but she must have turned that ability off when the captain said to turn off
The Plane I'm flying onThe Plane I'm flying onThe Plane I'm flying on

I've always taken photos of my planes and definitely sent a selfie of myself on the plane and sent it to my daughter regardless of how horrible it was .... yep a nervous flier I am!
devices! Ugh! The meals came along and the choice was a vegetarian rice or shepherds pies. I figured I’m going to Bali I better start eating rice, so asked for that option, the stewardess decided I must have meant the pie, so gave me that instead. Ok, it did taste alright, but with the arguments going on next door, I wasn’t going to be one to complain at all. I guess the flight wasn’t so bad, I mean I didn’t end up with the guys meal on my lap, which at some stage I thought it might, and unlike the lady in front of the girl, I didn’t have to put up with my chair being continually kicked as I guess the girl thought it was her own personal foot rest to slime all over. Needless to say, when the plane landed I fled to get off it and as far away from that couple as I possibly could.

Before landing I did see out the window the most beautiful sight. It’s one of those things that will be forever sealed into my memory, but unfortunately not to film to share. There was an amazing falling star I saw
Flying EconomyFlying EconomyFlying Economy

This is the leg room or lack thereof you get!
that reflected itself in the ocean below us. It was just magical. Of course I made a wish, but not like I can say what the wish was, otherwise it won’t come true now will it!

As far as airports go, there are airports and then there are airports …. I think this was of the lesser type. Filing off the plane down onto the tarmac is never very impressive, especially as they have so many of the docks that you can just walk straight into the terminal. I guess Virgin Airlines just doesn’t rate on the Bali Scale. We then were herded into a bus like cattle and driven to the central processing station. Here things took a back step. I don’t know if it was just one plane (KLM) or two that filled the room, but after paying the US$35 entrance fee, (why pay in American money? I just don’t get that!) I then had about an hour wait to get through the massive lines waiting to be stamped and processed into the country. I don’t think I’ve experienced that before. The closest I’ve come to this type of waiting time would have to have been in
Baby on BoardBaby on BoardBaby on Board

.... and they weren't the problem!
the Sydney airport on of my trips trying to leave the country. Thank heavens I was in the opposite line to the fighting couple and the girl was still crying away (I’m so grateful the hostess’ didn’t give her any further alcohol to consume on board). Honestly once through the stamping of my passport (which I have to admit, I do get a thrill having it stamped).

Getting my bag wasn’t an issue, I then walked through the door into the gauntlet of OMG I’m in a new country now what the heck am I supposed to do? There were people everywhere, my nerves were frazzled, and I had remembered there was supposed to be a taxi place to book a ride to Ubud, but I just couldn’t see it. I approached one man and he took me off to a private driver who said he would arrange this for me. Ok, so I was probably done over, but the trip cost me AUD$30 I think, I got a drink of water and a driver, so it was all good. The driver probably found me the most boring of passengers, because I was very compliant to whatever he wanted. If he wanted music, that was fine, if he didn’t, it didn’t bother me. It was when walking off towards the car, that I discovered the taxi place. To the left as you walk out, follow the line of people behind a barrier and I believe the first store at the end of that line is where you organise taxi’s. Live and Learn.

Driving along it was kind of exciting. Here I was in a new country to explore. The fact I was receiving frantic sms messages from home over a stupid work issue did kind of annoy me somewhat. I’m supposed to be on holiday people trying to relax and get away from the stress that work has recently put me through. I guess all involved did not get that memo!

I knew the drive was going to be a long one. It was just lovely sitting back and watching everything pass me by outside the windows. There were so many concrete statue venues along the roadways and I had to wonder what they did with them all. According to the driver, a lot would stay on the island as decorations in people’s homes and buildings, some
Bus to TerminalBus to TerminalBus to Terminal

Definitely loaded in like cattle
would be exported.



Now finding my hotel was a bit of a bother for my driver. We initially went to a different place, and just looking at it, I thought, um, I’m pretty sure what I paid didn’t get me think. It did look a bit too nice and fancy. The lady at the desk was awfully nice and redirected the driver around the corner to where I would be staying. I choose to stay at the Agung Raka Resort for the first three nights. I had booked this through the booking site Agoda.com which I had never used before. The three nights would cost me only $140 which included breakfast. I did look at staying elsewhere but just couldn’t pass up this price. On arrival to the hotel I was greeted warmly and requested to sit and wait. It took a little while and then a golf buggy arrived which I was to climb into and be transported to my room? Did wonder what on earth I had gotten into. Looking around the open reception area I did think it was so cute that they had little geckos plastered on the roof … I was later to find out these weren’t actually decorations but a nightly thing. The drive to my room seemed to take forever and I did question what I had gotten into. I was travelling by myself and didn’t want to be in the middle of nowhere if I needed help. It didn’t take too long before we pulled up outside the main complex. I was shown where breakfast would be serviced in the morning. Provided with a welcome drink, which was lovely and shown to my room (the air conditioner was a blessing) and wished a good night sleep. The room was lovely, but sleep was needed and I crashed, full of anticipation at the adventures I may have tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Hotel RoomHotel Room
Hotel Room

Most importantly there were no lizards inside my room, and each day two water bottles were replaced. This becomes vital as you need to keep up fluids and you can't drink their tap water!


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb