Bali, day two


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali
August 23rd 2013
Published: August 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Success is a beautiful thing, and I am feeling very good about our shared success today in meeting our goal of lazing around by the pool. Job done!

The downside however is that I don't have much to report. So we'll try a different kind of material today.

First up a couple of quotes we've come across on the trip and liked. The first was St. Augustine who apparently said, "The world is a book and those who don't travel read only one page." Obviously I feel very fortunate to have the opportunity to travel and to travel for a long time. But this quote makes so much sense to me. I feel like I've learned a lot on the trip and I hope that the kids will look back at this some day realize that they did too. The other phrase wasn't really a quote. We saw a statue of a fat bird in Singapore and the plaque below said that it signified, "the joy of living and the power of optimism." I'm not artsy enough to know why the statue signified that, but the phrase struck a chord with us. We've certainly enjoyed living over the last few weeks, and in general over the decades too. And with an uncertain future ahead for my employment, I reckon a little optimism will go a long way!

Wow....that was all a bit deep and meaningful. And I haven't even had a beer yet today! However, I have tasted a few local beers on the trip and photographed each favorite along the way to share with you. Hopefully these pictures will reassure you that I haven't changed too much on this trip. I may be a little more philosophical but I still love a cold beer on a hot day!

Lastly, with Anna-Marie having joined us on Thursday evening, we're pleased to add Andy and Keita to the clan for the next couple of days. Welcome!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Bia Ha Noi in HanoiBia Ha Noi in Hanoi
Bia Ha Noi in Hanoi

Beer = Bia in vietnamese. Sorry about the bad pour!
Chang in Chiang MaiChang in Chiang Mai
Chang in Chiang Mai

Note the elephants on the label - very appropriate!


Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0859s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb