Two weeks and counting


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali
January 18th 2009
Published: January 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

BaliBaliBali

Found this at the following link: http://www.zastavki.com
Travel update. Several days ago, I checked into a hotel in Cheyenne, Wyoming. All three ladies at the front desk were from Indonesia. Coincidence? I doubt it. They were excited when I told them I was going to Bali and they gave me numerous tips including suggestions to go to the Island of Lombok just East of Bali as well as to visit the temple/ruins in Borobudur. I've added both to my adventure list. So interesting how all this comes together!

I've been connected to two ladies in Bali involved in the SPA industry. One has invited me to stay in their guest room. I'm shuttling mail for her and her mother called. She was so excited about my trip and told me how much she loved the fragrances. As she got off the airplane in the midst of refueling and aviation smells, the fragrance that really grabbed her was the spice and jasmine in the air. I'm looking forward to that.

Upon a quick and brief search on the temple in Borobudur, I feel I will go there since I'm so close. It is referred to in some places at one of the wonders of the world and the second largest ruin only behind Angkor Wat in size. One reference labeled it the "Spiritual" center of all Indonesia. I feel it tugging me in that direction. Even with a jaunt to Java and whatever arrangements I need to make, it will be such little travel compared to last years in Vietnam, Cambodia and Thailand. I even located a suggestion to take a direct bus from Denpasar Bali that includes ferry passage. The flights are reported to be very inexpensive however, if I have the time (or rather take the time), I'll be able to see and experience more of the country.

I intend to land and rest up for a few days at the beach and then make up plans day by day from there. It's two weeks out and I haven't booked room reservations for my first night there. That's next. It's rainy season and off-season so I am not expecting it to be crowded.

From all the travel tips, I'm distilling a list of options to keep track of. Massage and healing sessions; mountain biking down the volcano near Ubud and dinner with the tour companies family on the way back; dance performances; cooking classes; remote villages to see authentic fabric and batik work; temples; restaurants; recommendation for home stays; more restaurants; and possibility for travel to more remote and tranquil parts of Bali.

Sitting here and imagining the possibilities, contemplating what might happen, unable to even come close to anticipating all the interesting people, conversations and encounters I'll have, it has such a surreal quality.

Soon I'll be there walking on the beach, soaking up the sights and sounds, eating the foods, tasting the local fruit, visiting the early morning markets, watching sunrise and sunset from temples and volcano's....I'll be happy to have you along in this format and share the journey.

If you are curious about any particular thing, please message me and I'll do my best to respond.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb