I'm going to Bali!


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali
June 2nd 2018
Published: June 2nd 2018
Edit Blog Post

Rich girlRich girlRich girl

€60 Is a million here, so that makes me a multi millionaire!
After a nice 2:30am wake-up, I had a long day ahead of me. It started great when I found out that the airport had opening times and I had arrived before the doors opened, so I had to wait outside. Luckily, my friends Renee and Filo had some time to keep me occupied on Skype! A 2,5 hour flight was followed by a 7,5 hour layover (yes, you read it right) and then another 6,5 hour flight. This last flight was my first flight ever that left 10 minutes BEFORE scheduled departure. No missing passengers, no one was late, I would call that a miracle.



As soon as I walked into the airport hall in Denpasar, Bali, I was overwhelmed by the amount of taxi drivers offering their services. They were very pushy and wouldn't take no for an answer. Even though I knew that a Grab (similar to Uber) taxi would be much cheaper, I allowed them to talk me into taking their taxi. I was exhausted after the long day of traveling and wasn't sure that a Grab driver could find me in all the chaos there.



When I finally got to the hostel, it turned out to be a very cute and small hostel. Everyone was very kind and they immediately invited me to go out with them. The next day, they no longer made me feel that welcome. If I was talking to one of them, they were all very nice, but I just clearly didn't fit into the group and they had known each other for weeks. When I took a private surf lesson alongside just one other girl, it was a lot of fun but the rest of the time I felt quite lonely. Luckily, on my last evening some new people had arrived and we all went out, giving a positive turn to my memories of Canggu!



Similar to Uber, Southeast Asia has Grab. Since its not very expensive, I took a Grab to Ubud. I love the luxury of being dropped off right in front of the hostel, rather than walking a long distance with my heavy backpack in this heat. The new hostel had a single 12-share dorm, which had curtains in front of the beds and massive lockers that fitted all my luggage - so there was no mess in the room at all. I felt a lot more at ease with the vibe in this hostel and the owner was lovely. If you ever visit Ubud, I would highly recommend Kayuni hostel!



On my first day, I did chat to a few others but went exploring on my own. As I was about to enter the Sacred Monkey Forest, I met 3 Dutch girls that I ended up spending the entire day with. We watched the monkeys - from a safe distance since we were all a bit afraid of them - and after lunch we visited a beautiful temple slightly out of Ubud. It was surrounded by rice fields and palm trees and was such a peaceful environment - despite the other tourists. Later, we witnessed a dance ceremony in the Ubud Palace with amazing costumes. The dancers really moved every part of their body, from their toes, to their fingers and their facial expressions; it was very impressive to see.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0713s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb