Grampians to Adelaide


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
May 19th 2018
Published: May 23rd 2018
Edit Blog Post

I think they're onto usI think they're onto usI think they're onto us

Alright, one sentence in Dutch: ik snap nu pas waar de uitdrukking schaapachtig kijken vandaan komt...
It was a grey, rainy day when we headed into the Grampians. We took a detour into the park, which Denise and Christopher recommended: just like they said, we saw a lot of emus (which I hadn’t seen yet) and hundreds of kangaroos! After seeing multiple impressive waterfalls, we went to a lookout. The road was foggy since it was in the clouds, so we didn't expect to see much. Lucky for us, the clouds started to rise by the time we got there and we got to see a gorgeous view. It was a beautiful place to drive through.

When we got back, our tank was almost empty so we stopped at the gas station across from our campsite. They only had one pump with our fuel type, turns out it was empty… by the time we got to the next fuel pump, we had 5 liters left in our tank. That was close!



The next day I drove for 2 hours and 15 minutes in a row.. That's the longest I ever drove, 200 kilometres! We saw the blackfellow caves and then just went straight to our free campsite. Turned out, this was a parking lot right next to a highway so neither of us felt very comfortable sleeping there. We ended up going to a little town called Keith, where we dressed up to go out for dinner (in other words, jeans rather than leggings and we put on a bit of makeup). We were stared at as if we were aliens , clearly this town didn't have many young people and we were totally overdressed in the little restaurant. Nevertheless, it was a fun night out, followed by another long drive the next day. This was a bit longer than yesterday, 2,5 hours, but the main difference was that I didn't have to take a single turn in over 200km. I literally took 3 turns to get out of the village, and then the GPS kept telling me “in 125km, continue straight” followed by another “in 44km, continue straight” and so on. I was glad when we finally arrived in Hahndorf, a cute little German establishment near Adelaide that is known for its wine. For only $5, we could try 8 different wines. We also made some “friends” on our campsite, in the form of some massive, goose-sized ducks (or they were geese that looked like ducks, I couldn't tell). They kept following us, weren't the least bit afraid and even tried to eat something off my shoe. This was already our last day of the road trip, unfortunately. The next day, we just handed in the car and that was it…



On the bright side, we had a hotel room with a queen sized bed and our own bathroom waiting for us, and after all those nights on the crappy mattress in the car (where I never slept longer than 2 consecutive hours, I kept waking up), this was a very welcome change! After meeting with a friend of a friend (who lives in Adelaide) and a day in Glenelg (they have the best chocolate fondue ever!), it was time for me to pack my bags again.



It was weird to say goodbye to Samantha. After getting to know her at a very high speed since we were together 24/7, it really feels like I've made a new friend. And to Australia I can safely say, I'll be back.. but first, I'm off to Bali! I'm ready for my next, and last, adventure before I return home in 2,5 weeks.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Treated myself at the airportTreated myself at the airport
Treated myself at the airport

At least now I won't be hungry for the next week or so


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb