First week in Ubud


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Ubud
October 17th 2014
Published: October 17th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Om Swasti Astu, I've been in Bali for a week and a half now. I've settled into my new place here in Ubud. It is a family homestay and the Balinese family here are very nice. The place is peaceful and I have a beautiful view of the valley. The climate is perfect and there is a gentle breeze always running through my room. The room is a open air traditional bungalow, so geckos, mosquitos, etc. all come in but the mosquitos are not too bad since it's usually a bit windy. There is a nice pool here to swim. Every day, I hear the roosters crowing, dogs barking in the middle of the night, people chanting and praying...there is a Balinese family temple next to my room and I hear children chanting in the evening. It's very beautiful to listen to and when I look over, I see 3 of them kneeled down with flowers in their fingers and hands to the center eye chakra in prayer. People here are very warm and friendly and local people love to ask you where you are going and where you are from. The traffic in the streets are busy and everything is ALIVE here. Bali vibrates on a high at all times...ceremonies and processions happening every day, daily offering rituals, smells of incense everywhere...I'm in LOVE with Bali and all that it is. This place will always hold a special place in my heart and I keep returning here every year..Om Santi Santi Santi Om....Rika


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0699s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb