Bali Time


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Ubud
March 21st 2014
Published: April 12th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I am about to run to another yoga class, so I will do my best to fill you in on the past few days. A year ago today, I would never have guessed that I would be across the world and enjoying the sweltering heat of Bali, Indonesia. I really can’t believe it. I have probably pinched myself over 5 times just today!! Before I tell you about Bali though, I want to tell you a funny story that happened a few days ago. My bags were packed and ready to go and I was about to head to the airport to catch my flight to Bali. I even called a taxi and then I decided to look at my boarding pass. Guess what? I had an extra day in Australia! My flight did not leave until the next day. So instead of heading to the airport, I went back to my favourite places in Perth! I walked around Kings Park and then I also returned to Subiaco. I definitely made use of my extra day in Australia! The next day when I woke up and double-checked my boarding pass again, sure enough I was supposed to depart that day, so I made my way to the airport and checked in! The flight was about four and a half hours long. Customs in Bali were insane when I arrived, but somehow I survived all the pushing and shoving. People went in all directions, as there were no lines at all. As soon I got out of the airport, I started sweating almost immediately!

Now, what have I done since I arrived!! I have done lots, but I feel like I do not want to overload you all with every little nitty gritty detail. So I am just going to describe my 3 highlights of Bali so far!

The first thing is the sunrises. The views have been spectacular; the colours are warm oranges to deep magentas. As I watch the sun rise, I can’t help but think of one of my favourite songs. I thought I would share it with you and so I have posted it below. Every morning I try and wake up before the sun does, so I can witness and embrace as much beauty as I can. There is something about seeing the world before it comes alive every morning that brings me so much joy. It is just so peaceful and comforting to know that I get to experience another day and live it to the best of my ability. It makes me realize how fortunate I am to live the life that I do. Having warm breezes kiss my cheek is one of the best feelings in the world. Experiences like that make me reflect on my own life and make me appreciate the small things.

Secondly, the yoga! Up until about a year ago I was not really into yoga, but now I would say it is hard for me to go a few days without going to yoga. During my time in Australia, I had been in yoga withdrawal. I know I could have done it on my own anywhere, but being new to the practice, I did not feel comfortable enough to do it on my own. Before I arrived in Bali, I knew that yoga was very popular here, so I have tried to take advantage of it all. Doing yoga as the sunrises, wow, now that is an experience I can never get sick of!

The last highlight of Bali was my day with the elephants. The first thing that I did was to ride one. After the slightly smelly ride, I bought a plain white t-shirt and I got an elephant to paint on my shirt while I was wearing it! It tickled me and it made me smile ear to ear. Now you are probably thinking what an amazing experience that would have been, and that was exactly my thought in the moment. Now thinking back, it is an awful thing to make the elephants do. These are animals that are supposed to be in the wild, being carefree, but they are brought to this “safari”, where they are whipped into training to be like this. Well I could go on for a long time, but I should end on a high note, I believe.

I am leaving at around midnight tomorrow night, so I will write again from my next location which is….drum roll please! Cairns! I am off to explore the Great Barrier Reef! Miss you all at home! Peace!



In the Sun- Joseph Arthur



I picture you in the sun wondering what went wrong
And falling down on your knees asking for sympathy
And being caught in between all you wish for and all you seen
And trying to find anything you can feel that you can believe in

May God's love be with you
Always
May God's love be with you

I know I would apologize if I could see your eyes
'Cause when you showed me myself I became someone else
But I was caught in between all you wish for and all you need
I picture you fast asleep
A nightmare comes
You can't keep awake

May God's love be with you
Always
May God's love be with you

'Cause if I find
If I find my own way
How much will I find
If I find
If I find my own way
How much will I find
You

I don't know anymore
What it's for
I'm not even sure
If there is anyone who is in the sun
Will you help me to understand
'Cause I been caught in between all I wish for and all I need
Maybe you're not even sure what it's for
Any more than me

May God's love be with you
Always
May God's love be with you

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb