Ubud


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Ubud
May 10th 2012
Published: May 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Ubud is a town designed for hippies. Everyone is floating around wearing linen and button necklaces. Having massages and reflexology. There's 'organic' and 'vegan' signs everywhere. Random herbs in drinks: maca, spirulina, wheatgrass... Everyone is meditating and doing yoga. Spiritual is definately the word. Quite different to Kuta!

I'm staying in a Homestay with a lovely family. There's also another family: Kadek is the cleaner. She stays in one room with her husband and 7year old son. They live right below me.

I went to a traditional Balinese dance show at a temple one evening. The dance is very perculiar, based on small movements of fingers and eyes. But very lovely setting.

I've found a man that rents a bike for the day for a pound sio have cycled to a place called tegallalang. It's a village in a valley of rice terrace fields. Very spectacular.

I'm also learning little bit of Indonesian. I am expremely tanned and people keep asking if I'm indian and I have had my week of Bali Belly - standard for me really.

I need to go but will be back to write more. There is so much I can't write because of time limits but at least this way people know I'm alive lol. There's a guy in my homestay who owns a laptop and I'm going to beg to use it in a wifi spot one day.

Salamat Jalan!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb