Bali, Bali, Bali


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Ubud
January 2nd 2011
Published: January 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Bali1Bali1Bali1

A woman carrying an offering to a celebration, there were about three others right behind her.
Hello all and happy new year! Seems strange to think it's 2011, time flies. And speaking of time flying, I leave Bali tomorrow morning for my last stop, the Philipines. I will try and cram in as much as I can for the nine days I'm there but I am thinking I will have to come back to do it right. But I'm getting ahead of myself, I should fill you in on Bali.

What a beautiful island, green and lush beyond imagination. I didn't get around to doing a whole lot, I thought I was due for a break from seeing everything. I spent five days in Ubud and what an interesting piece of paradise. If you can have patience for the taxi drivers desperate for a fare ('taxi, where you go, taxi'), they're just trying to earn a living, there is such beauty there. I find I didn't take a whole lot of pictures, just soaked it all in. I did make a trip to see Ketut Liyar, you're wondering 'who the heck is Ketut Liyer?' Any of you who have read or seen the movie, "Eat Pray Love" know that the woman who wrote the book went
Bali2Bali2Bali2

I'd just missed a Hindu festival called Galung where these bamboo decorations are put up and stay up for a month.
to spend time with this medicine man. After a few attempts to find out where he is, or even who he is, I managed to find someone who could help me. Ketut is just a tiny whip of a man but sharp, you can tell, nothing gets by him. The cost was kind of crazy, I'm sure it's gone up since the movie was released but I was told some wise words by a wise person 'treat yourself' so I did. I wasn't told the mysteries of the universe, in fact, I only sat with him for about 13 minutes but those few minutes were peaceful and fun. He told me that when I get married, I must write him a letter, that cracked me up!

I have ventured out to see a few temples (can't ONLY relax for 11 days!). I also went to the Monkey Forest Sanctuary, what a funny place that is. Inside this sanctuary are three temples but most go to see the hundreds of macaque monkeys. Naturally, I found the temples (of course) but also spent hours watching the monkeys and realizing just how stupid some people are. Even though the monkeys roam freely
Bali3Bali3Bali3

How can you not love that sky at sunset?
in amongst people, they are still wild animals and there were a few dummies who failed to realize that. What I'd like to see is where the monkeys take all the stuff they steal, sunglasses, kids toys, small bags; I think they have a small shop where the stuff is sold! But mostly in Bali, I spent most of my time just people watching, hanging out on the beach in between the rain (yes, don't envy me too much, it's rained much of the time). But it's just what I needed before I cram in nine Philipine days. I hope you all had a great and safe holiday season and will be in touch for a brief update on my last country before I fly home. Take care! Cheryl


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Bali4Bali4
Bali4

Me and Ketut. I asked if I could take his picture and he said only if I were in it too. Funny...
Bali5Bali5
Bali5

Before entering a temple, you must adhere to the rules. I found the first one interesting...
Bali6Bali6
Bali6

See I have a scarf around my waist (had to be borrowed from the ticket booth).
Bali7Bali7
Bali7

Green and lush!
Bali8Bali8
Bali8

Just one of many streets I wandered down in Ubud.
Bali9Bali9
Bali9

I attended a few Balinese dance performances. This one was the best, no instruments, just the men around the edge using their voices, superb!
Bali10Bali10
Bali10

At the monkey forest sanctuary, what a tough life these guys have! Yes, he's sleeping, I had to step over him.
Bali11Bali11
Bali11

This is the deluxe spa treatment at the sanctuary.
Bali12Bali12
Bali12

A temple at the MFS
Bali13Bali13
Bali13

Yes, the monkey to the left is doing exactly what it looks like...
Bali14Bali14
Bali14

The street outside my guesthouse in Ubud.
Bali15Bali15
Bali15

Calming...


2nd January 2011

Ketut hey?
I'm glad you have had a brush with fame in Bali. He didn't say much to Julia but it all came true so I am assuming you are getting married now...Bali is supposed to be one of the most beautiful places in the world so I am glad you stopped over there and are soaking up its natural beauty. What a great trip you are having! Can't wait to hear some stories upon your return...Miss you, Robs
2nd January 2011

Girl I´m envious!! You seem to be having a great time. Love the fact that you went to see Ketut.
2nd January 2011
Bali15

happy new years Cheryl!!!!! Bali looks amazing! I look forward to seeing you when you get back ;) You look beautiful in the pic with your guru! Too cute See u soon Renee
2nd January 2011

HI Cheryl, I cancelled my trip to Bali in Jan due to their rainy season and funny that you mentioned how much rain you'd had there. Not sure where i'm going now or whether i'll wait for Bali until the end of March/april. Happy New Year to you!! Happy travels! Deb
3rd January 2011

Hey Cheryl: Happy New Year to you !!! Enjoy the rest of your trip and safe travels home !! linda
4th January 2011

Amazing
Wow, Amazing photos Cheryl. Quite the experiences you're having!

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0654s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb