Isle of smiles - BALI


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Ubud
June 4th 2009
Published: June 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It's not just Bali..... I notice this as soon as I reached Indonesia. People just respond with a smile. I am told that in Bali there is a smile for every emotion.

Everyone just smiles - it could be the guard that checks the front seat and boot (this is done religiously now since the bombings) as you enter the carpark or some random person riding by on their bike who happens to catch your eye.

And here in smile central, as I sit at the front of this little cafe having dinner I get this beautiful passing parade of men who've just been to the temple because they were wearing flowers in both ears, dots on their foreheads and BIG SMILES all beaming at me! Smiles must carry some kind of happiness charge because I'm jst foating on cloud 9 here.

Of course it does help being in paradise, which is the word that comes to mind so often as I walk around this place. I've been staying in Alam Jiwa and now today I am moving to Alam Indah where the retreat will be held. To save confusion I've just posted photos of Alam Indah but Alam Jiwa was equally beautiful.

Tomorrow morning the retreat will start in earnest so this may be the last post I get up for a while. The retreat was the reason why I launched myself on this odysey in the first place and now it's time for some serious yoga now. I'm really looking forward to it too!

sending you all a big smile......................


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

close up of the temple close up of the temple
close up of the temple

This is the temply behind the Lotus Cafe
2 girls2 girls
2 girls

These two girls basically bossed me into taking a photo of them....so here it is.
TaNGO?TaNGO?
TaNGO?

Funily enough I have my tango shoes with me as I sometimes use them as dress shoes. Shall I go?
lost!lost!
lost!

I wanted to do the monkey Forest walk and ended up in a rice paddy with these ducks.
Monkey forest lostMonkey forest lost
Monkey forest lost

Still lost but am discoveing new territory just like Indiana Jones!
Monkey Forest Lost 2Monkey Forest Lost 2
Monkey Forest Lost 2

Look kwhat I found! A River!
Monkey Forest Lost 3Monkey Forest Lost 3
Monkey Forest Lost 3

And just to prove that I was really there....here are my feets!
Lotus RoomLotus Room
Lotus Room

My room in Alam Indah
Lotus Room 3Lotus Room 3
Lotus Room 3

Outside on our porch


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 6; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb