Ubud - Bali


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Ubud
September 12th 2008
Published: September 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I abandoned the idea of getting into Java today. I've decided to take things a bit slower. I needed to rush to try and make it to the south of Borneo and back, but I think trying to make that would make me miss half the good stuff on the way and probably not take in what I did manage to see.

Instead, I took a bus up to Ubud today, which is near the centre of Bali, and the cultural centre. It's not a very big place, but full of batik paintings, wooden sculptures and masks, and pottery. There's an arts centre in town that runs lessons on all sorts of things from gamelan playing to batik painting, so I might take a class some time. I'll be here another two days at least, but maybe longer.

At the bottom of the road is a place called "monkey forest", which the guidebook says is a small patch of rainforest, but I think it will be too small to be very rainforesty. Going to check that out tomorrow and walk around a bit.

Tonight I'm staying in a gorgeous place with rooms that open out into an open air courtyard full of plants with a small pool and fountain. It's more than I can afford every day though so for tomorrow I've found a much cheaper place around the corner.

Hope everyone is doing well back home.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb