Life in the Clinc


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Ubud
July 3rd 2008
Published: July 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The entranceThe entranceThe entrance

Welcome to Bumi Sehat
I've been here now for over three weeks so I feel like I can give you a pretty accurate description of what I have been doing here at Bumi Sehat. I wanted to wait to write about my clinic life until I had immersed myself into their daily routine and really blended in. Before I go any further I wanted to thank all of you who have supported me though out this journey. Without your love and generous donations I would not have been able to do or experience any of this! This is such a life changing trip and I am eternally grateful to everyone of you!
I wanted to share a little bit about what my experience has been volunteering here at the clinic and what I have been doing more on a daily basis. Rest assured that I haven't just been soaking up the Bali sunshine that in deed I have been working hard! I am at the clinic 6 days a week, anywhere from 4 to 13 hours a day! When a woman comes in I will stay with her though out her labor and birth. Only when she is resting comfortably and nursing successfully is when
The clinicThe clinicThe clinic

Early in the morning before the buzz of people
my job is done😊 For any of you who have had children or have supported a woman in labor know that there is definitely no time schedule or time limit! The clinic has been increasingly busy over the past year due to a cut in government health care funding to the poor (which is a majority of Bali). At the clinic we see on average 40-60 births a month! New volunteers have been arriving so it definitely helps to split up the births. There has even been talk of creating shifts! It is wonderful to have such exposure to so many births. No birth is the same so I have become more familiar on how to deal with the many situations of labor and birth. I have become a pro at fetal positioning, using the Doppler, and taking blood pressure! I have even been able to share my skills of massage and labor facilitation techniques with the Indonesian midwives!
When Bumi Sehat isn't buzzing with babies, it is filled with locals attending one of our many clinics. Three days a week there is a prenatal clinic held to help woman receive free care that they otherwise wouldn't have access to.
Inside the clinicInside the clinicInside the clinic

The common area
These woman can barely afford protein rich foods to prevent anemia let alone prenatal vitamins (which the clinic gives to every pregnant woman who enters in the door). There is also a pediatric and adult acupuncture clinic 3 days a week. During clinic hours I am usually fluttering around doing a variety of tasks- from pulling charts, removing acupuncture needles or taking vitals. These clinics have no official end time so we all stay until the last patient has been seen. Each clinic will usually see 40-70 patients a day! The actual clinic building itself has also been pretty busy. Due to the increasing number of births the clinic has been in a constant state of expansion. It is a core belief of Bumi Sehat that one woman is turned way, so they have no other choice but to expand until they can afford a new and bigger clinic! Since I have been here they have added a whole new birthing room to the clinic! During any down time that I may have you can usually find me re-organizing,moving or cleaning something!
When my day is done at the clinic, I walk back to the ashram take a much needed shower and make some food! After my stomach is fully and have chatted with the other volunteers I am usually read to go to bed around 9pm. But as always I keep my phone by my pillow just in case they call me for a birth in the middle of the night!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Pediatric clinicPediatric clinic
Pediatric clinic

Dr. Soma in the purple is absolutely amazing! I can learn a lot from her.
Just after a massageJust after a massage
Just after a massage

I had to take a picture of this amazing baby that I am privileged enough to massage weekly!
WelcomeWelcome
Welcome

Not a bad way to enter the world.
BondingBonding
Bonding

The placenta (which stays attached to the baby for a minimum of 3 hours) is placed in a bowl and filled with beautiful smelling flowers
One happy familyOne happy family
One happy family

Another wonderful family who's birth I attended


10th July 2008

13 hours!
young lady you must be sooooo sleepy! 13 hours a day sometimes, wow. you are soooo amazing. i really admire everything you are doing! you are truly an amazing women lauren xoxo
12th July 2008

Unbelievable!!
Lauren: What a wonderful opportunity and experience you are encountering. This is something that will last a lifetime in your memoirs, and you will be able to share with your children in the future. God bless you, stay safe, and we'll see you soon. Love u, Aunt Carnie
14th July 2008

Thailand's just around the corner
It's been a month...hard to believe... and it looks like you're really adjusting to their culture. Bring some of it home, it's a lifestyle more of us should learn. Have you been keeping a diary? Your life's ventures will be kept with you if you write it down. What's the plan for Thailand? Feel free to email me the update. In the meantime stay safe and enjoy the most rewarding trip of your life. Love Dad
15th July 2008

What's up with your next move to Thailand?
Just want to know what the plans are for Thailand... Loved all your notes on Bali; what a wonderful experience. From what I've read so far you haven't had any major problems other than trying to find time to sleep!! I'm proud of the work you're doing and look forward to hearing all the details and what you feel you're learning in the process. You'll have these memories forever... keep good notes in your diary. Miss you and best wishes on your continued travels. Dad

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb